View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 02:09pm
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by zanzibar
Thanks for everyone's responses on this topic. I'm still trying to clarify the rules that apply to this play. I was searching the books today trying to support a decision on this topic.
Situation: B1 goes airborne to defend a possible shot by A1. B1 leaves the ground first and A1 fakes a shot. After B1 is airborne A1 jumps into B1. In the ref's judgment no contact would have occurred if A1 does not jump in.

This is my opinion and why I would rule this way:

1. Once B1 goes into the air A1 has to allow him to land unless A1 was in this space before B1 became airborne. I know A1 has the ball and is a shooter, but I don't think it has any bearing on this play.
2. 4-19-1 says... it is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive movements.

I think most of the time this play would be a no call.
I don't think it makes a difference whether A1 jumps forward or sideways.
Comments..... Agree or disagree?
On the other hand B1 is responsible for contact if he does not stay verticle, regardless of who jumped first.
Reply With Quote