| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Thanks for everyone's responses on this topic.  I'm still trying to clarify the rules that apply to this play.  I was searching the books today trying to support a decision on this topic. 
Situation:  B1 goes airborne to defend a possible shot by A1.  B1 leaves the ground first and A1 fakes a shot.  After B1 is airborne A1 jumps into B1.  In the ref's judgment no contact would have occurred if A1 does not jump in. 
 
This is my opinion and why I would rule this way: 
 
    1.  Once B1 goes into the air A1 has to allow him to land unless A1 was in this space before B1 became airborne.  I know A1 has the ball and is a shooter, but I don't think it has any bearing on this play. 
    2.  4-19-1 says... it is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive movements. 
 
I think most of the time this play would be a no call. 
I don't think it makes a difference whether A1 jumps forward or sideways. 
   Comments.....  Agree or disagree?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |