The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 30, 2004, 07:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Consider this not too unlikely case:

Shot in the air. A1 is coming from the top of the key while B4 is coming in from the side. B4 anticipates the rebound and jumps for the while running full speed. However, the rebound goes straight to A1, who is running down the lane. B4 lands on A1 as A1 is now jumping to shoot. B4 is an airborn player who's landing spot was vacant when he jumped. Is this a foul on A1? Or is it a foul on B4? Or is it nothing?
In this particular case, doesn't it depend on whether A1 has player control before B4 lands on him? If A1 gets the ball, then isn't it just, "Sorry B4, I know it was not planned, but I've gotta call it anyway?"
Or is it a foul on A1 for not allowing time and distance for B4 to avoid contact (since B4 was in the air and had jumped in a direction that was unoccupied at the time of the jump).

If A1 had the ball before B4 jumped, we'd likely just consider B4 to be guarding A1 and to not have legal position....a block. But, with B4 jumping for a loose ball (at the time of the jump), there is no guarding. Doesn't B4 have the right to land when the spot was unoccupied at the time of the jump?

Perhaps even incidental?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1