The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Apr 28, 2004, 09:08am
Official Forum Member

Question

Fellows, I have been officiating High School for 8 years, playoffs and regionals included. I will be attending my first college camp in June and would like to ask some of the more camp experienced guys what officiating aspects should I work harder on in summer league to be ready for this camp? Also what should I expect from this endeavor.
Old Wed Apr 28, 2004, 09:14am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Couple of thoughts.

What to do before camp: get in real good shape. You'll do multiple games per day and probably be sweating to death while you do them. If you're not familiar with the rules differences between FED and NCAA, get familiar with them. If you're not familiar with 3-whistle mechanics, brush up on them.

What you'll get out of it: you'll be a better official. Period. If you're (un)lucky, you'll get to hang out for a few nights with Dan.
Old Wed Apr 28, 2004, 09:47am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to dhodges007 Send a message via Yahoo to dhodges007
The main thing I would work on is my mechanics and my run. That helped me a lot when I first started going to camps.

My two sense!
Old Wed Apr 28, 2004, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member

Anybody have any more specific comments?
Old Wed Apr 28, 2004, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by kref
Fellows, I have been officiating High School for 8 years, playoffs and regionals included. I will be attending my first college camp in June and would like to ask some of the more camp experienced guys what officiating aspects should I work harder on in summer league to be ready for this camp? Also what should I expect from this endeavor.