The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 05, 1999, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 83
Post

Ken,
I think ... you probably meant to imply that the ball must be in the back court for it to be a violation eventhough the rule didn't say specifically?


Nope. I actually meant the opposite. Rule 9-9: "A player shall not be the first to touch a ball which is in team control after it has been in the frontcourt, if he or she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt."

So even if the ball goes to the backcourt and somehow re-attains frontcourt status without being touched, and then gets touched by Team A in the frontcourt, it will be a still violation since the play does fulfill the "went to the backcourt" criterion.

Of course, in 99.99+% of backcourt violations, the ball will have backcourt status when touched...i was just pointing out that it was possible to have a violation while the ball has frontcourt status...
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1