The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2000, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 176
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Without having the NCAA case book in front of me, it is difficult to know what the set up of the case that you describe (A.R. #19). It sounds like the case that was discussed in a thread a couple of months back, where B tips ball into backcourt. In that case, B has not established team control, so shot clock would continue to run and the 10 second count should start when the ball goes backcourt(unless you are of the opposite opinion expressed in that earlier thread!). The 10 second count starts because the elements are 1) team control and 2) backcourt status. In this scenario I have just outlined, A is able to pick up the ball because B was the last to touch in front court, but A retains team control throughout the play.

In the inbounds case described by hoopsrefBC (does the BC stand for Backcourt or British Columbia?), the reason it is legal for A to go retrieve this ball is different. Team A was last to touch, but can go get the ball because it has not established team control. No team control in front court no backcourt violation. No team control in backcourt, no 10 second count. 10 second count should start on team control in backcourt, which is established when A1 picks up the ball. This is all said without NCAA rule or case book, so I will concede that NCAA may differ from NF on this rule.

One more thought. Suppose A2 executes a controlled tap to A1 who is cutting backcourt after inbounding ball in such a manner that it looks like a set play (give and go). Can you determine that A2 established control? What if they run this play 3 or 4 times as a set play? If so, wouldn't we have a backcourt violation when A1 touches ball?


British Columbia..


Since you said "controlled tap" i would probably call an over and back violation. However would i nomally not call this. I would only call this if i was sure a controlling action(two hands on the ball) had taken place. I'll give the benefit of the action to the player and let the players play the game.

[Edited by hoopsrefBC on Dec 19th, 2000 at 02:01 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1