The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Interesting situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12616-interesting-situation.html)

devdog69 Mon Mar 08, 2004 12:46pm

I saw this play last Sunday in a women's college game and it brought up some interesting conversations during our pregame at my sub-state games this past weekend. It happened in a game between SW Mo. State, I'll call them A, and Indiana State, B.

Sitch-Player A drives towards the basket and towards B1, who is in very obvious legal guarding postion and ready to take a charge. A1 leaves her feet and is about to pick up a charging foul when, just before she creams B1, B2 hacks her hard on the arm. The bucket goes in. A1 continues on and rams into B1. What is the call? I'll let some discussion go, before I give their answer.

Lotto Mon Mar 08, 2004 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
Sitch-Player A drives towards the basket and towards B1, who is in very obvious legal guarding postion and ready to take a charge. A1 leaves her feet and is about to pick up a charging foul when, just before she creams B1, B2 hacks her hard on the arm. The bucket goes in. A1 continues on and rams into B1. What is the call? I'll let some discussion go, before I give their answer.
Common foul on B2, PC foul on A1, wipe the basket, A1 shoots 2 with players in the lane, resume from there as normal. No FTs for B even if in the bonus.

How'd I do?

Dan_ref Mon Mar 08, 2004 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
Sitch-Player A drives towards the basket and towards B1, who is in very obvious legal guarding postion and ready to take a charge. A1 leaves her feet and is about to pick up a charging foul when, just before she creams B1, B2 hacks her hard on the arm. The bucket goes in. A1 continues on and rams into B1. What is the call? I'll let some discussion go, before I give their answer.
Common foul on B2, PC foul on A1, wipe the basket, A1 shoots 2 with players in the lane, resume from there as normal. No FTs for B even if in the bonus.

How'd I do?

That's what I have too.

Under ncaa men you count the basket and A1 gets 1 FT.

bob jenkins Mon Mar 08, 2004 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by devdog69
I saw this play last Sunday in a women's college game and it brought up some interesting conversations during our pregame at my sub-state games this past weekend. It happened in a game between SW Mo. State, I'll call them A, and Indiana State, B.

Sitch-Player A drives towards the basket and towards B1, who is in very obvious legal guarding postion and ready to take a charge. A1 leaves her feet and is about to pick up a charging foul when, just before she creams B1, B2 hacks her hard on the arm. The bucket goes in. A1 continues on and rams into B1. What is the call? I'll let some discussion go, before I give their answer.

Option A) The hack caused the charge -- enforce that foul only (good basket, shoot 1 throw)

Option B) Both fouls are called. Wipe off the basket, A shoots two throws with no one on the line, B gets the ball at the end-line after the throws -- can run if the seond throw is good, spot throw-in if the second throw is not good.


tomegun Mon Mar 08, 2004 02:26pm

Shooting foul one free throw.

Bart Tyson Mon Mar 08, 2004 03:12pm

Count the basket, shoot 1 FT. The girl was under the basket so can't have a PC coming from the front of the basket. Just guessing.

[Edited by Bart Tyson on Mar 8th, 2004 at 02:30 PM]

BktBallRef Mon Mar 08, 2004 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tomegun
Shooting foul one free throw.
Only in NCAA Mens.

Bart Tyson Mon Mar 08, 2004 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by tomegun
Shooting foul one free throw.
Only in NCAA Mens.

I don't understand what you are saying. I think at all levels, If the shooter gets fouled in the act, and the basket counts, we shot one.

bob jenkins Mon Mar 08, 2004 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by tomegun
Shooting foul one free throw.
Only in NCAA Mens.

I don't understand what you are saying. I think at all levels, If the shooter gets fouled in the act, and the basket counts, we shot one.

It's the "airborne shooter" difference -- and it's unclear (at least to my reading) whether it would apply in the original situation (had it been a men's game).

Ref Ump Welsch Mon Mar 08, 2004 03:35pm

Defender under the backboard only applies if the ballhandler is behind the backboard. If ballhandler is in front, there's no restriction on where the defender is standing. So, in this situation, I would agree with Jenkins' two options. Judge the hack first before calling the player control.

ChuckElias Mon Mar 08, 2004 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
I think at all levels, If the shooter gets fouled in the act, and the basket counts, we shot one.
Not if we have a blarge ;)

chayce Mon Mar 08, 2004 04:32pm

This one very rarely gets called even when it appears to be very clear cut. A false double foul is a situation in which there are fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the clock is started following the first, and such that at least one of the attributes of a double foul is absent. (NFHS 4.19.8, NCAAW 4.26.12)

In this scenario, the clock stops when the offical blows the whistle for the first foul on B1. However, even though the clock is stopped, the ball is live. When A1 charges into B2, a foul has been committed before the clock is started following the first foul thus meeting the definition of a false double foul.

You wave off the basket due to the player control foul.

There is a foul on B1 with A1 shooting two free throws.

There is also a foul on A1 that is a player control foul.

In NFHS and NCAAW, clear the lane and shoot both free throws. Team B gets the throw-in along the base line with the freedom to move the base line.


Bart Tyson Mon Mar 08, 2004 04:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ref Ump Welsch
Defender under the backboard only applies if the ballhandler is behind the backboard. If ballhandler is in front, there's no restriction on where the defender is standing. So, in this situation, I would agree with Jenkins' two options. Judge the hack first before calling the player control.
What level is this from? In Women's, its from the front.

rockyroad Mon Mar 08, 2004 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:

Originally posted by Ref Ump Welsch
Defender under the backboard only applies if the ballhandler is behind the backboard. If ballhandler is in front, there's no restriction on where the defender is standing. So, in this situation, I would agree with Jenkins' two options. Judge the hack first before calling the player control.
What level is this from? In Women's, its from the front.

Gotta agree with Bart on this - NCAAW, can't take a charge directly under the basket unless the drive is parallel to the backboard - not sure what Welsch is talking about...

tomegun Mon Mar 08, 2004 04:49pm

Chayce, good post but how is the foul on B1 when B1 is the defender that takes the charge? Also, how do you come up with two shots for A1 if you don't count the basket? I agree with the false double foul though. I don't have a rule book here so I'm all ears.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1