The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Interesting situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12616-interesting-situation.html)

Ref Ump Welsch Mon Mar 08, 2004 06:40pm

Airheadeness must be contagious. I went back and reread my posting. It was not what I meant to say. Had an airheaded student in my office when I typed that up. What I meant to say (and guess I might be wrong about this) is that legal guarding position is "forfeited" if the defender is standing under the basket and the post player is going up for the shot in between the defender and the backboard. If I'm not mistaken, I saw this called as a blocking foul once.

Bart Tyson Mon Mar 08, 2004 06:47pm

If we are talking Women's, it doesn't matter who the Off. player is when going to the hoop. The guard may start anywhere on the court and run right through the Def. if she is under the basket. Its a block or nothing. The only exception is a drive along the baseline.

Ref Ump Welsch Mon Mar 08, 2004 09:05pm

Bart, where is the exception on driving the baseline in the rule book? I don't see it. Working a tournament this weekend that utilizes NCAA rules and want to be on top of things. Thanks.

Bart Tyson Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:01pm

I don't have my book with me. I'm not sure its a specific rule with an Art. #. But, it is in the book. I think its in the back under POE. Good luck.

bob jenkins Tue Mar 09, 2004 08:54am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
I don't have my book with me. I'm not sure its a specific rule with an Art. #. But, it is in the book. I think its in the back under POE. Good luck.
It's in Appendix III, Section 12.b:

b. The defender is entitled to any spot on the playing court she
desires, provided that she gets to that spot first, without contact
with an opponent. A defender who establishes a position directly
under the cylinder or behind the backboard when a dribbler
becomes an airborne shooter is not in a legal guarding position,
regardless if she got to the spot first. If contact occurs, the official
must decide whether the contact is incidental or a foul has been
committed by the defender. Exception: When a dribbler takes a
path to the basket parallel with the end line, the defender’s position
directly under the basket is a legal guarding position and, if
contact occurs, the official must decide whether the contact is incidental
or a foul has been committed by the dribbler or airborne
shooter.

And, here's an AR that's the same as the original play:

A.R. 19. (Women) Airborne A1 is fouled by B1 during a try for a field goal. A1 releases
the ball then illegally contacts B2 in returning to the floor after the shot. The ball
goes through the basket. RULING: This shall be a false double foul. The foul by B1
did not cause the ball to become dead since A1 had started the trying motion.
However, airborne shooter A1’s foul shall be a player-control foul that causes the ball
to become dead immediately. No goal can be scored even when the ball goes through
the basket before the foul. Since the try is unsuccessful, A1 shall be awarded two free
throws for the foul by B1. No players shall be allowed in lane spaces since Team B
shall be awarded the ball after the last free throw. When the last free throw is successful,
the throw-in shall be from anywhere along the end line. When the last free
throw is unsuccessful, the throw-in shall be from a designated spot, in this case, the
end line.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1