The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Mar 02, 2004, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member

I am a basketball coach in a little league organization that plays under the National Federation of State High School Assoc rules. I am trying to find out if double and triple teaming a player in the low post when he doesnt have the basketball is considered an illegal defense.

I have a very large player on my 12 year old team, (6 feet 175 lbs) and the refs basically let the other kids beat the heck out of him without calling any fouls. The newest stategy that other couches in the league are using is when when we are taking the ball out under our basket, they surround him with 3 players leaving the weaker players open from outside. I am just curious if this is a technical foul due to illegal defense.

Thank you.
Old Tue Mar 02, 2004, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member

NFHS rules allow for zone defense. The opposing team can guard your big kid with all 5 players if it wants. Unless your organization specifies no zone defenses in its guidelines, I'd have the other kids practice their layups.

Also realize about the officiating:

1. A game amongst 12 year olds is going to be called ALOT differently than a high school or college game.

2. The officials at this level may have little or no training, and are just in it for the $15 a game they are receiving for spending a few hours in the gym each Saturday morning. Don't be too hard on them. There aren't too many other folks willing to volunteer their time.

Welcome to the board.
Old Wed Mar 03, 2004, 12:05am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by TriggerMN
2. The officials at this level may have little or no training, and are just in it for the $15 a game they are receiving for spending a few hours in the gym each Saturday morning. Don't be too hard on them. There aren't too many other folks willing to volunteer their time.