The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2004, 02:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 558
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
I was at the gym earlier today, playing a pickup game, and had a shot roll across the top of the backboard and drop for 3pts. Everybody immediately told me it was OOB and no bucket. It didn't touch any supports or anything. Now I know its a good shoot and should have counted but arguing against everyone was of no avail.

Afterwards one of the guys playing came to me and told me he knew I was right, except in some states. His high school team lost the state championship on a basket that was waived off because the ball rolled off the top and went in. My question is what states if any have this rule at the HS level and under what rules are they playing? I know some states aren't using Fed but I can't imagine something as simple as this being different in any other set of rules.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2004, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
My guess is that the ball hit something, a support, rope, something above the top of the backboard.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2004, 10:59am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by BoomerSooner
My question is what states if any have this rule at the HS level and under what rules are they playing? I know some states aren't using Fed but I can't imagine something as simple as this being different in any other set of rules.
I'm thinkin' what yer thinkin'.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2004, 06:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 185
Send a message via MSN to BOBBYMO Send a message via Yahoo to BOBBYMO
How old was the guy you were playing with? Is there a chance that he was playing with the old "round" or " fan shaped: backboards in their state?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2004, 09:28pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by BOBBYMO
How old was the guy you were playing with? Is there a chance that he was playing with the old "round" or " fan shaped: backboards in their state?
You may wanna re-think what you wrote.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2004, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
All the edges of the backboard are inbounds, including those of the fan-shaped boards. Balls passing over the fan-shaped boards are in-bounds, but balls passing over the rectangular boards are out of bounds.

I think you got a bad call.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 03, 2004, 12:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 558
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
arguing against ignorence is what cost me the shot, cause I know it didn't hit any supports. What bugged me is the one person who appeared intelligible made the "in other states" comment.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 03, 2004, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
My guess is that the ball hit something, a support, rope, something above the top of the backboard.

Or the officials just called it OOB when it wasn't . . .
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 06, 2004, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 198
During the OSU-A&M game today the ball hit the top of the backboard and was ruled OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 06, 2004, 10:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally posted by gostars
During the OSU-A&M game today the ball hit the top of the backboard and was ruled OOB.
Must have hit a support...

I wasn't there (nor did I see it on TV), but you have to believe the officials got it right.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 07, 2004, 10:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 198
I know it could not have hit a support because Gallagher-Iba has portable baskets that sit on the floor

[Edited by gostars on Mar 7th, 2004 at 09:49 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 07, 2004, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally posted by gostars
I know it could not have hit a support because Galager-Iba has portable baskets that sit on the floor
What about the shot clock?
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 07, 2004, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 198
I check the NCAA book. Rule 7.3 (Page BR-99 in the 2003 book)
"The ball shall be out of bounds when it pass over the backboard from any direction."

How far does the ball have to go over the top to "pass over the backboard"?

[/QUOTE][/B] What about the shot clock? [/B][/QUOTE]

By NCAA rule the shot clock must be recessed. Gallagher-Iba shot clocks are set back and raised so that a ball on the top of the back board would not hit the shot clock.

[Edited by gostars on Mar 7th, 2004 at 09:49 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 08, 2004, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
I've officiated a lot of ncaa games and the ball has touched the shot clock. I guess I'm not sure what you are saying. I think we caught all the times when it hit.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 08, 2004, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by BOBBYMO
How old was the guy you were playing with? Is there a chance that he was playing with the old "round" or " fan shaped: backboards in their state?
You may wanna re-think what you wrote.
mick
don't know 'bout anyone else, but ROFLMAO
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1