The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Mar 07, 2004, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member

I am new to officiating (meaning I just recently passed the test in my state and haven't done a game yet), but in preparing for the test I read about multiple fouls.

Just curious if anyone has ever made a call similar to what I've read in the rules or case book on multiple fouls (sorry I don't have the books in front of me, so I don't have pages) ...specifically, a situation where A1 is fouled by B2 and B3 as A1 takes a 3 pt. shot. If the shot is missed, A1 then gets four shots (two for each foul)? Just curious...I never saw it happen.

Thanks, and I enjoy all the posts.
Old Sun Mar 07, 2004, 07:36pm
Do not give a damn!!

Lightbulb

No I have not and probably never will. There are a lot of things in the rulebook that are not going to get called to the letter. For one, it really is not necessary in most situations to call a multiple foul. And if you did call it, no one would understand it or agree with it. But that is something you will learn as you progress as an official. Pick one and move on. Do not go looking for trouble and calling something that you might not apply properly and no one will understand if you applied properly.

Peace
Old Mon Mar 08, 2004, 12:48am
Official Forum Member

I would have to agree with the previous official. If you call those type of situations like you are talking about, then you are only asking for trouble. Just pick one foul, and go with it. Chances are that one of them had to fould just an instance before the other opponent fouled.

Go Jayhawks
Old Mon Mar 08, 2004, 04:15am
Official Forum Member

How bout simultaneous fouls?

I've read the rule but have seen only one or two situations where I guess I could have called it... Anyone actually call these?
Old Mon Mar 08, 2004, 04:34am
Official Forum Member