The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 26, 2004, 12:39pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
[/B]
He says he has been told and seen at camps (on the mens' side) that if the ball is about to go in and the def. slaps the backboard the they would rather count the basket instead of giving the T. He says at camps they only want the T if it is clear there was no attempt to block the shot. Since he will be checking this out this forum for the first time, if he has the guts to reply go easy on him. He is a good official and I do enjoy working with him.

[/B][/QUOTE]Mr. Goofy Friend Of Bart's, please read FED casebook 10.3.5. There is no rule that will allow you to call BI unless the player actually touches the ball or basket when the ball is on or within the basket, or if he actually touches the ball when it's in the cylinder. That's NFHS rule 9-11, and there's nothing anywhere in either the FED or NCAA rule books that would let you call BI outside of those parameters.

Please, MR. Goofy Friend Of Bart's, do NOT make this call. It will make your friend, Bart, also look like a goof by association.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1