![]() |
I want to preface this question; this is NOT a question I have, but rather a question from a goofy official whom I work with from time to time. :) What is the basket, by definition? Do you consider the backboard as part of the basket? Hence, BI when ball on the rim and opponent hits the backboard. He wants to have the option to call BI. He says he will check out the responses tonight.
|
Quote:
It was specifically defined in the "court and equipment" section a few years ago (3 or 4?) then removed without comment. You can derive it from one of the definitions, now. Here's the NCAA definition: Section 13. Baskets—Size, Material Art. 1. Each basket shall consist of a single metal ring, 18 inches inside diameter, its flange and braces, and a white-cord, 12-mesh net, 15 to 18 inches in length, suspended from beneath the ring. |
Quote:
|
Rules 1.10.1
Each basket shall consist of a single metal ring, 18 inches in inside diameter, its flange and braces, and a white-cord 12-mesh net, 15-18 inches in length, suspended from beneath the ring. And why would he want to call this? |
Bart, get someone to read FED rule 1-10-1 to your goofy friend. "Each basket shall consist of a single metal ring,...,it's flange and braces and a white-cord 12-mesh net...".
He wasn't serious,was he? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE]Mr. Goofy Friend Of Bart's, please read FED casebook 10.3.5. There is no rule that will allow you to call BI unless the player actually touches the ball or basket when the ball is on or within the basket, or if he actually touches the ball when it's in the cylinder. That's NFHS rule 9-11, and there's nothing anywhere in either the FED or NCAA rule books that would let you call BI outside of those parameters. Please, MR. Goofy Friend Of Bart's, do NOT make this call. It will make your friend, Bart, also look like a goof by association. :D |
Quote:
|
Dear Mr. Goofy Friend of Bart's
This is JR's way of going easy on you - he really can be much worse if he gets to know you :)
|
Who cares?
I don't know the definition of a basket is, but I tell you what. . . I know one when I see one!
|
Bart
Your "friend" isn't of the same ilk as BBallCoach, is he? :D
|
Re: Bart
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58am. |