The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2000, 12:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 80
Orange 1 drives the lane releases the ball then runs into white defender 1 who is clearly set. White 2 jumps up and goaltends. I know in high school, any player control foul(charge call) the basket does not count but somebody in the crowd said because it was a goaltending the shot should have counted. I say no way
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2000, 12:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
In your case the ball becomes dead immediately
upon the PC foul. Therefore a deadball cannot be
goaltended(NF).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2000, 02:20am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,900
Lightbulb Not so fast my friend!!!!!

I would have never believed it myself unless I did not see it myself. Rule 7-5-7 says that you can have a goaltend on a player control foul. The ball is not technically dead, but you will not count the basket under any other cases. It is even in the casebook under play 7-5-7a. You can also take the ball out anywhere along the baseline too.


Quote:
Originally posted by PAULK1
In your case the ball becomes dead immediately
upon the PC foul. Therefore a deadball cannot be
goaltended(NF).
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2000, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greater Indianapolis Area
Posts: 436
Send a message via Yahoo to Indy_Ref
Exclamation Hence...

basket counts and no FT's, PC foul on A1, B takes ball out & can run the baseline.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2000, 11:40am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,900
Exclamation Re: Hence...

Exactly!!!


Quote:
Originally posted by Indy_Ref
basket counts and no FT's, PC foul on A1, B takes ball out & can run the baseline.
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2000, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 149
Why is that situation a player control foul in the first place? You said A1 released the ball and then ran into B1. Unless he was airborne and landed on B1, there would be no PC foul. It would be a charge since the ball had left his hand prior to the contact. If it was real close, it might be hard to sell, but no PC. The goaltending would cause the basket to count and then proceed with the push by A1 according to the bonus situation. Yes or no?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2000, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greater Indianapolis Area
Posts: 436
Send a message via Yahoo to Indy_Ref
Thumbs up

Ralph, you are correct if the play was a charge and not a PC foul. I was assuming Smoke had called a PC foul on an airborne shooter. In your situation, you shoot if the team is in bonus. Otherwise, you take the ball out-of-bounds under the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2000, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally posted by Ralph Stubenthal
Why is that situation a player control foul in the first place? You said A1 released the ball and then ran into B1. Unless he was airborne and landed on B1, there would be no PC foul.
I read the initial post to mean the player was still airborne at the time of the crash. In NCAA men, it would be a charge instead of PC, but for NCAA women and high school ball it would be PC. In either case, the shot doesn't end until it goes through or is clearly going to miss, so the goaltending does get enforced. Count 2 points, then penalize the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2000, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,762
Thumbs down Re: Re: Hence...

Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
Exactly!!!


Quote:
Originally posted by Indy_Ref
basket counts and no FT's, PC foul on A1, B takes ball out & can run the baseline.
Not!

If GT before contact, it is as quoted above.

If contact before GT, no basket, PC foul, B get ball nearest foul. You can only goaltend a try. The try ends when the ball becomes dead at the time of the PC foul.

[Edited by Camron Rust on Dec 13th, 2000 at 06:31 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2000, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
Talking

EXACTLY
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 13, 2000, 07:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Re: Not so fast my friend!!!!!

[QUOTE]Originally posted by JRutledge
[B]I would have never believed it myself unless I did not see it myself. Rule 7-5-7 says that you can have a goaltend on a player control foul. The ball is not technically dead, but you will not count the basket under any other cases. It is even in the casebook under play 7-5-7a. You can also take the ball out anywhere along the baseline too.


Just to clarify: If the GT occurs prior to the PC foul, count the basket. If the PC foul occurs before the GT, then there is no try and therefore no GT.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1