The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2004, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 88
i had a game last night. As A1 puts up a jumpshot, my partner call a foul on A2 for fouling B2 after the ball is released and in the air. the shot was good, ball went through the basket.
CALL: my partner reported the foul on A2. he nullified the basket. the coach was ranting and raving, so my partner asked me if the ball was released before he blew the whistle. and i told him," the ball went in, it was released before the foul/ whistle blew." we went ahead and scored the basket and gave the ball to Team B on the baseline. I let him run the baseline, even though the foul was called, the basket was scored. If it was a close game, and a team wanted a foul after a basket to prevent them from running the baseline to put the ball at the spot throw in. it puts them at a disadvantage. so thats what i went with. me and other officials looked it up in the rule/ case book, but couldnt find the senario. can someone help me out to find it?
__________________
"Sometimes the best call is a NO call..."
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1