![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
This logic would be just fine for NCAA, but it is not convincing for NFHS. And I know you aren't talking about NCAA because you cite 4-41-5, the NFHS rule, not 4-64-5, which is the NCAA listing. The problem with your explanation is that the NFHS rule does NOT include the word "legally", only the NCAA manual does. Here they are: NFHS 4-41-5 ... The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower. NCAA 4-64-5 ... A throw-in shall end when the passed ball touches or is legally touched by an inbounds player other than the thrower-in. Hence, you cannot apply your logic of legally touching and the timing of when the throw-in ends to rule on this NFHS play. If you look at one of my earlier posts in this thread I already mentioned this and then wrote, "The kicking/fisting of the ball has been interpreted to be DURING the throw-in even in NFHS, hence the right to run is retained." The throw-in really ends with the kick in NFHS, but the casebook rulings make it clear how the rules committee is INTERPRETING the violation to be during the throw-in so that the throwing team may still run. They are fudging a bit here. They really should simply put the word "legally" into their book! As a last note there is also a parallel difference in the starting of the game clock. In NFHS the clock should be started and then stopped by the timer on a throw-in pass which is kicked because 5-9-3+4 do not include the word legally, but the clock is not started until the ball is legally touched in NCAA since 5-11-3+4 do include that word! I'm sure you already knew that. [Edited by Nevadaref on Feb 10th, 2004 at 03:40 AM] |
Bookmarks |
|
|