The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2004, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Napa Valley, CA
Posts: 8
Talking

With .2 seconds on the clock at A1 is fouled and clock stops. A has a 1 point lead and A1 is going to shot 2 shots. The official calls the game claming that .2 seconds in not enough time for B to get a shot off should A1 miss both foul shots. Other than elastic power, which I don’t think comes into play at this point, is there anything in the NCAA rule book that gives an official the right to call the game with .2 on the clock?

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2004, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,090
Quote:
Originally posted by bpaulson
With .2 seconds on the clock at A1 is fouled and clock stops. A has a 1 point lead and A1 is going to shot 2 shots. The official calls the game claming that .2 seconds in not enough time for B to get a shot off should A1 miss both foul shots. Other than elastic power, which I don’t think comes into play at this point, is there anything in the NCAA rule book that gives an official the right to call the game with .2 on the clock?

Bob
No.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2004, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 365
There is enough time for a Tip in. NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2004, 03:08pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,769
Or...A misses both free throws, and on the second miss, A5 shoves B5 to keep him/her from getting rebound...tweet - buzzer...no time on clock but B5 gets to shoot free throws (assuming they were in bonus) for a possible win...this official was way off-base...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2004, 03:21pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
Or...A misses both free throws, and on the second miss, A5 shoves B5 to keep him/her from getting rebound...tweet - buzzer...no time on clock but B5 gets to shoot free throws (assuming they were in bonus) for a possible win...this official was way off-base...
Or a T to anywhere could be awarded.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2004, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Another scenario

OK, if you can do that, why play the end of any blowout game? Why not say, 'You guys are down by 40, and there's only three minutes left, and we don't think you can do it, so let's go home!'
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 02, 2004, 09:16pm
oc oc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 321
I heard once that the FIBA rule is different than NF/NCAA and you cant even get in a tip with 0.2. Anyone know if that is true?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2004, 06:50am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,654
Quote:
Originally posted by oc
I heard once that the FIBA rule is different than NF/NCAA and you cant even get in a tip with 0.2. Anyone know if that is true?

Not true.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2004, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
Just out of curiosity, did this happen in a college game??
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2004, 12:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally posted by oc
I heard once that the FIBA rule is different than NF/NCAA and you cant even get in a tip with 0.2. Anyone know if that is true?
No. There is no three-tenths rule in the FIBA, even with Hank Nichols' mingling with the rule book on the FIBA World Technical Commission. Art. 29 (when a period or game has ended) does not have any rule on it. Anything's legal with even 00.1 on the clock. The new timing technology may IMO eliminate the 00.3 rule in the future because of how quick a button may be pressed by one official and a whistle blown by the other official.
__________________
In Christ,

Bobby
Deut 31:6-8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1