The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Re: Re: Re: BYU vs. NM

Quote:
Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
perhaps people would like to check rule 9-11 Exception:
"If a player has his/her (PC) hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters a basket cylinder or if in such action, the player touches the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference."
But there's no rule that allows him to lose contact of the ball and then touch it once again within the cylinder, ring or basket. Read what you posted. In this play, "contact with the ball" does NOT continue. He loses contact and then touches the ball again.

Given your interpretation, A1 could attempt to dunk, have the ball bounce high into the air, return to the floor, and then go back up and jam the ball as it sat on the rim.

Just like the original post, and my previous example, all three are BI.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1