The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Dec 17, 2003, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member

Having been around the rec league for a couple weeks now, I've seen several of my constituants work. I myself have done two outings of 3 games and 2 games for a total of five. I'm also a helper dad/unofficial assistant coach for my son's team. In that capacity, during his games I've either been the scorekeeper or have run the clock. This has given me the opportunity to observe other officials that I work with or know of, do their thing.

What I have discovered is that these other officials have been offered comparibly more work than I. I've made myself available to work any night of the week with my assignor.

What I can say to my assignor to get more games?

Or, how should I go about asking him without putting myself in disfavor?

I enjoy being a referee and want more games.

Old Wed Dec 17, 2003, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref

Cyber,

Could be the other guys have been around longer?
The assignor knows them better?
Knows them to be reliable? (not saying you're not, just they are)
Has a good working relationship with them?

Give it time, keep letting him know you're open for more games, when they come up take them.

BTW, is there another assignor in your area you could take games from?
Old Wed Dec 17, 2003, 01:23pm
Do not give a damn!!