The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 12:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 426
Send a message via AIM to dhodges007 Send a message via Yahoo to dhodges007
NCAA men rules: Shooting two free throws and A5 goes and sits down after A1 has the ball to shoot (no subs were beckoned). Coach is screaming for a timeout to get the 5th player back on the court. What is the correct ruling?

Is it a T for leaving the court in this situation and if not/so what is the reference?

Tks,
Denny
__________________
~Hodges

My two sense!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 04:40pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,282
Lightbulb My NCAA Rulebook is at home.

Quote:
Originally posted by dhodges007
NCAA men rules: Shooting two free throws and A5 goes and sits down after A1 has the ball to shoot (no subs were beckoned). Coach is screaming for a timeout to get the 5th player back on the court. What is the correct ruling?
You can only give a timeout when the rules allow it. If the ball is in at the deposal of the team shoowing the FT and this is not the coach's team, then you obviously cannot grant a timeout, despite the protest of the coach. And yes, it would be a T against the player for leaving the court unauthorized.

Quote:
Originally posted by dhodges007

Is it a T for leaving the court in this situation and if not/so what is the reference?
I do not have that book right here, but look in the player conduct section (should be in Rule 10) and see what they can and cannot do. This is something they just cannot do.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Re: My NCAA Rulebook is at home.

Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
Quote:
Originally posted by dhodges007
NCAA men rules: Shooting two free throws and A5 goes and sits down after A1 has the ball to shoot (no subs were beckoned). Coach is screaming for a timeout to get the 5th player back on the court. What is the correct ruling?
You can only give a timeout when the rules allow it. If the ball is in at the deposal of the team shoowing the FT and this is not the coach's team, then you obviously cannot grant a timeout, despite the protest of the coach.
I'm pretty sure A1 and A5 are on the same team. I don't have an NCAA rule book and I know that.

Grant the TO, dhodges007.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2003, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Ok, so if the coach recognizes it and requests TO, you grant it. But what if the only person to recognize it is the official opposite the table?

There's a sub waiting to come in at the table, but A5 goes off and sits down before the sub is allowed to come in. A5 can't possibly gain any advantage by this. So do you ignore it and just beckon the sub after the first FT? Do you stop the FT in order to bring A5 back onto the court? Or do you bang A5 for leaving the court?

The last option does not get my vote, BTW.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2003, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
The last option does not get my vote, BTW.
Mine neither.

HOWEVER, other things do happen. Had a partner call the 4th foul on a player one night. During the first FT, the player, pissed off, goes to the bench, kicks his chair and sits. Trail busted him.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2003, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 426
Send a message via AIM to dhodges007 Send a message via Yahoo to dhodges007
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Ok, so if the coach recognizes it and requests TO, you grant it. But what if the only person to recognize it is the official opposite the table?

There's a sub waiting to come in at the table, but A5 goes off and sits down before the sub is allowed to come in. A5 can't possibly gain any advantage by this. So do you ignore it and just beckon the sub after the first FT? Do you stop the FT in order to bring A5 back onto the court? Or do you bang A5 for leaving the court?

The last option does not get my vote, BTW.
Just asked my mentor what I should have done and he said just bring the player back on the court. Since he wasn't trying to show us up (being pissed off) or gain an advantage - then it is on us as a crew for not seeing him leave in the first place.

Thanks for all of your replies... next time I won't bang him.

D
__________________
~Hodges

My two sense!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1