The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 17, 2000, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1
Need help with this one...2 man crew, I am in Trail opposite table; partner in lead table-side. Ball is fumbled and rolls loose from my side beyond 3 pt line and rolls OOB on the baseline, my side. Partner looks for help - I had the call - I signal ball goes to Blue (offensive team) stays in frontcourt. Before I can get in position tableside, partner mistakenly hands ball to White and they make baseball pass length of court and score EZ lay-up. I blow the whistle and advise table to score basket (I'm 99% sure this is right - non-correctable error) We inbound the ball to blue in their front court where the original OOB spot was. Should we have inbounded the ball under Whites basket and allowed them to run the end line, or were we correct?
__________________
HerbH
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 17, 2000, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,051
Yes and No. No you should not have inbounded in the front court. However, you are right, it is not correctable, so Blue should have taken the ball out under whites basket as you would in any other made basket situation. Good call to count the bucket.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 17, 2000, 01:17pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,903
Exclamation Communication

This first started off as a communication problem. You partner should have waited until you were in position and you had made eye contact with them. This is where eye contact can avoid most correctible error situations.
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2000, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 92
I don't see how you can count the basket. The ball belonged to blue on the baseline, spot throw-in. Just because white thought the ball belonged to them does not mean it does and they can score. Cancel the basket, bring the ball back to the baseline for a spot throw-in. Maybe I missed something. But the correctable rule section 2-10 starts off "Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside". Then section 2-10-1e says "Erroneously counting or canceling a score." That appears to be the case. White was not intitled to score but they did. So you correct the play. I have had the wrong team score before and cancelled the basket, it usually happens in JHS games.
__________________
Jerry Baldwin
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2000, 06:30pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Thumbs down Oops.

Quote:
Originally posted by Jerry Baldwin
I don't see how you can count the basket. The ball belonged to blue on the baseline, spot throw-in. Just because white thought the ball belonged to them does not mean it does and they can score. Cancel the basket, bring the ball back to the baseline for a spot throw-in. Maybe I missed something. But the correctable rule section 2-10 starts off "Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside". Then section 2-10-1e says "Erroneously counting or canceling a score." That appears to be the case. White was not intitled to score but they did. So you correct the play. I have had the wrong team score before and cancelled the basket, it usually happens in JHS games.
Jerry,
Check out Case Book 7.5.2B
mick
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2000, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Re: Communication

Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
This first started off as a communication problem. You partner should have waited until you were in position and you had made eye contact with them. This is where eye contact can avoid most correctible error situations.
Yeah, eye contact is very important on throw-ins but this
case is *not* a correctable error. It's just a referee
f*** up.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2000, 01:55pm
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 171
Send a message via AIM to Bradley Batt
You are absolutely correct Mick - this is not a correctable error. By rule you cannot correct it anytime after you have granted the throw-in to the incorrect team.

Best way to handle it: Do a "mea culpa" with the coach that is seriously ticked off at you!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2000, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 962
Send a message via AIM to Tim Roden
Bradley,
A What with the coach?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2000, 02:18pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb mea culpa

Quote:
Originally posted by Tim Roden
Bradley,
A What with the coach?
Mea culpa, mea maxima culpa

My fault, my most grievous fault.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2000, 09:50am
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 171
Send a message via AIM to Bradley Batt
meĀ·a culĀ·pa n. An acknowledgment of a personal error or fault.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2000, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,765
Quote:
Originally posted by Bradley Batt
You are absolutely correct Mick - this is not a correctable error. By rule you cannot correct it anytime after you have granted the throw-in to the incorrect team.
It can be corrected until the ball is touched inbounds on the erroneous throw-in. If you blow the whistle prior to that point, the only rule you have is the one that caused the ball to be dead the first time. That allows you to some time to correct it. (See case 6.3.1D for a similar situation)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2000, 01:56pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Smile

Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
It can be corrected until the ball is touched inbounds on the erroneous throw-in. If you blow the whistle prior to that point, the only rule you have is the one that caused the ball to be dead the first time. That allows you to some time to correct it. (See case 6.3.1D for a similar situation) [/B]
Camron,
I think the thread was talking about the play after the wrong team threw the ball in and not an "Oops, gimmee back that ball."
mick
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2000, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 74
Had a similar situation occur in a JV game. Inbounding Team A was late getting out after a TO, so I put the ball on the floor and began the count. A confused defensive player, assuming the ball was up for grabs, darted out of bounds, picked up the ball, and tossed it to a teammate in one fell swoop.

I was too startled to react immediately, but finally blew the whistle stopping play before Team B scored and awarded the ball to Team A (again).

Case 7.5.2B seems pretty clear in showing what I did to be in error. Needless to say, I'll be more protective of the ball in the future.

Sven
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2000, 03:30pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Sven
Had a similar situation occur in a JV game. Inbounding Team A was late getting out after a TO, so I put the ball on the floor and began the count. A confused defensive player, assuming the ball was up for grabs, darted out of bounds, picked up the ball, and tossed it to a teammate in one fell swoop.

I was too startled to react immediately, but finally blew the whistle stopping play before Team B scored and awarded the ball to Team A (again).

Case 7.5.2B seems pretty clear in showing what I did to be in error. Needless to say, I'll be more protective of the ball in the future.

Sven
Sven,
Did you also "Warn" defense for breaking the plane,
per Rule 7-6-3 ?

mick
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 22, 2000, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Sven, i think Mick gives you an out on this one. Just call violation on the def., official warning and play on.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1