![]() |
|
|||
Yesterday, boys' 8th grade game.
A1 commits a common foul near the end of the game. I report it and go to trail position. Partner administers 1 + 1 to B1. Shot is missed. B2 puts back the rebound. During this action, I observed A team coach conferring (or so I thought) with A1 near their bench. Immediatley following the B2 basket, A team coach steps onto court hollering; he yells that A1 has five fouls. (Never mind that he could have been T'd for coming on to the court. At the time, I was thinking, "Good grief, what the heck is going on?") He sends sub to check in for A1. I've still heard nothing from the scorer to this point, so I check. Yep, that was A1's fifth. Drat. Coach A is asking for the B2 put-back to be wiped off the board because it's a correctible error. Partner and I confer and decide that it isn't a correctible situation. We play on with team A to inbound. In looking a Rule 2-10-1, I still don' think it applies in this situation, but I need some help here. Three questions: 1. Was this a correctible error situation? 2. If so or if not, what could/should we have done differently? 3. Given that it was our 'screw up' would you have given a technical foul to A team coach for coming on to the court during the dead ball following B2's basket? By the way, I realize, after the fact, that in this situation, I should have taken just a moment more when reporting to see if the table would indicate a fifth foul. Just goes to show once more the importance of good communication between the table and the on-court officials. I'll be more cautious in the future. Sven |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|