The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2003, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Casebook 7.1.1 (B) hinges part of the legal/illegal issue to the player having control of the ball or not before going OOB. It indicates it is legal because the player did not leave the court voluntarily and the player did not have control of the ball before leaving the court. In the posted sitch the player dribble one or more times, left the playing court, then returned to continue dribbling the ball.

I see nothing in the post that fits the definition of an interrupted dribble.

I see no reason not to call an OOB violation. The only difference to the (I can't locate the rule) violation of stepping out of bounds while dribbling is the direct angle in this sitch versus the player dribbling along the sideline and stepping OOB while not in contact with the ball.




__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1