The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2003, 02:44am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by BigGref

If regulation ends tied A-55 B-55, and slightly after time expires an A player or coach says something inappropriate that gets him/her a T. As you are getting ready to administer 2 FTs to B1, the scorer buzzes you over to tell you that there was a scorer's error 1 point in favor of the a) A team, or b)B team. What would you do?

The bookkeeping error can be corrected up until the referee approves the final score-rule 2-11-11. Give the missed point to the appropriate team.The ball hasn't become live in the OT, so it is not mandatory that the OT will be played(casebook play 2.11.10SitD).
1)Score A-56 B-55-- Team B gets the 2 FT's for the T as if they were part of the fourth period. If B misses both, game is over and A wins. If B makes 1 out the 2, the game is tied and you play the OT. You start the OT period with a jump ball. If B makes 2 out of 2 FT's, the game is over and B wins 57-56. See rule 5-6-4 and casebook plays 2.11.10SitD and 5.6CommentB.
2)Score B-56 A-55. Game is over and B wins by that score. The A technical foul is entered in the scorebook,but the free throws for it aren't shot. Rule 5-6-3EXCEPTION.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 3rd, 2003 at 01:50 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1