The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Today, 02:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 133
New Throw-in Spot following Violation at the Division Line committed by Throwing Team

NFHS Rules.

Up through the 2023-24 season, the Penalty for any violation of R9/S2, "Throw-in Provisions" read, in part: "Following a violation, the ball is awarded to opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot [emphasis added]. Easy, peasy.

In 2024-25, the Penalty for any violation of R9/S2, "Throw-in Provisions" was changed to read:
a) When the opponent is awarded team control in its frontcourt, the throw-in spot will be at one of the four designated spots nearest the violation. (Diagram 5, aka: "the four spots")
b) When the opponent is awarded team control in its backcourt, the throw-in spot will be at the original throw-in spot. [emphasis added]
That same season, R7/S5/A3, read in part, "After a violation (9-4 through 9-13) by either team..." Notice R9/S2 was not included here. Still rather easy, peasy.


For 2025-26, the Penalty for any violation of R9/S2, "Throw-in Provisions" was changed to read:
a) When the opponent is awarded a team control in its frontcourt, the throw-in spot will be based on the location of the violation relative to the three-point line where the violation occurred. (Diagram 5, aka: "the four spots")
b) When the opponent is awarded a team control in its backcourt, the throw-in spot will be based on the location of the violation relative to the three-point line where the violation occurred. (Diagram 5, aka: now also "the four spots")
R7/S5/A3 has been edited to include violations of R9/S2 and now reads, in part: "After a violation (9-1, 9-2, 9-4 through 9-13) by either team..."

That means violations of R9/S2 will take place at one of the eight spots (four FC or four BC). Any reference to the original spot in R9/S2 has been deleted.


Scenario: during the first quarter, Team B is assessed an Administrative Technical Foul for requiring the scorer to add a name to the book. Following their two free throws, Team A is awarded a throw-in at the Division Line Opposite the Table. Thrower A-1's inbound pass goes out of bounds untouched over the end line in Team A's front court (9-2-2).

Question: Now that any reference to the original spot has been deleted, where is Team B awarded its throw-in due to the violation by Team A?

Current rules book and/or case book support?

Last edited by Mike Goodwin; Today at 02:10am. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Today, 02:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,036
https://forum.officiating.com/basket...iolations.html

I pointed this out in a thread last month.

My answer to your question is that since the division line is considered to be part of the backcourt for both teams, the ensuing throw-in for Team B will come from the 28-foot line in the backcourt opposite the table.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Short Gyms" Division Line is still Division Line? NoFussRef Basketball 16 Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:09pm
Logic of division line throw in after technical Rooster Basketball 7 Tue Feb 23, 2010 03:29pm
FIBA - division line throw-in violation JugglingReferee Basketball 17 Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:09am
Sitch: FC throw-in near division line. mick Basketball 1 Wed Dec 05, 2007 06:58pm
Player steps on division line while in Front Court , is this a violation Br36ian Basketball 2 Wed Jan 10, 2001 12:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1