The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2025, 02:01pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
No More Offensive Goaltending ...

Alternating possession arrow is pointing toward A’s basket.

A1 is fouled in the act of shooting a successful field goal attempt and is awarded one free throw.

After A1 releases the free throw attempt, knucklehead A2, from a marked lane space, trying to impress his cheerleader girlfriend, grabs the ball while it’s outside the imaginary cylinder and dunks it.

This is not a free throw violation.

As soon as A2 touched the ball, it ended the free throw (by definition) and the ball became dead, thus no point(s) are awarded to A1, nor to A2.

No more offensive goaltending, so no more technical foul for this act during a free throw.

Now what?

When A2 touched the ball the ball became dead with neither team in control, so go the alternating possession arrow, allowing Team A will get the ball for a throwin under their own basket.

Does this seem fair?

Was this the purpose and intent of recent rule change of no more offensive goaltending?

For the past (at least) forty-four years, this (goaltending a free throw) has been technical foul with the harsh penalty of no Team A point for the free throw, two free throws by the best free throw shooter(s) on Team B, and Team B being awarded the ball at the division line for a throwin.

Now, under this circumstance, while there will be no Team A point for the free throw, Team A will benefit by getting the ball for a throwin under their own basket.

Never happen?

Probably true for the past (at least) forty-four years, but what if Team A was down by three with one second to go the game?

Did the NFHS even consider this situation while considering this recent rule change?

Did something fall through the cracks?

Unintended consequence?

My local IAABO interpreter suggested we consider this an unsporting act and penalize accordingly.

“Not limited to” is subjective and open ended and thus subject to various individual interpretations.

Perhaps the NFHS can get out of this mess with an actual written interpretation in the casebook, or at least as an annual interpretation, of this being an unsporting act.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Oct 26, 2025 at 03:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 26, 2025, 02:19pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
My Solution To This Issue ...

My suggested case play:

Situation: After A1 releases a free throw attempt, A2, from a marked lane space, grabs the ball while it’s outside the imaginary cylinder and dunks the ball. Ruling: When A2 touched the ball the free throw ended and the ball became dead so no point(s) are awarded. A2 is charged with a technical foul. This action is considered to be an unsporting act. If A1 is due additional free throw(s), they will be attempted with the lane cleared. Any player(s), or eligible substitute(s), on Team B will attempt two free throws and Team B will be awarded the ball at the division line opposite the table for a throwin.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2025, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,249
I always thought it was weird that if B grabbed the ball just outside the cylinder, it was GT and a T, but if B grabbed the ball just in the cylinder, it was just BI.

Maybe the play that led to the rule scores of years ago was more of a routine "block" of the FT and nothing weird has happened since.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2025, 08:46am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
Free Throw Blocked Shot ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Maybe the play that led to the rule of years ago was more of a routine "block" of the FT and nothing weird has happened since.
Bingo, but only for the defense.

Who would block a teammate's shot?

Unless the shooter was about to break the "goaltender's" personal points record?

We still have defensive goaltending (on a free throw, or otherwise) that leads to a technical foul for such on a free throw.

My situation was for the offense "goaltending" (quotes because it's only the act itself, not longer by definition) a free throw.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Oct 27, 2025 at 12:05pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2025, 09:19am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
Suggested Casebook Play ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Situation: After A1 releases a free throw attempt, A2, from a marked lane space, grabs the ball while it’s outside the imaginary cylinder and dunks the ball. Ruling: When A2 touched the ball the free throw ended and the ball became dead so no point(s) are awarded. A2 is charged with a technical foul. This action is considered to be an unsporting act. If A1 is due additional free throw(s), they will be attempted with the lane cleared. Any player(s), or eligible substitute(s), on Team B will attempt two free throws and Team B will be awarded the ball at the division line opposite the table for a throwin.
Anybody see any problems with my suggested casebook play?

I'm about to submit it run it up the ladder through the CIAC (Connecticut), IAABO, and eventually to the NFHS.

Is there an easier fix, maybe involving a free throw violation?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2025, 06:50pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,994
The ball failed to hit the rim on a free throw attempt. Why can't we just call the violation on the shooting team?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2025, 11:16am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
Violation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
The ball failed to hit the rim on a free throw attempt. Why can't we just call the violation on the shooting team?
Good idea, seems simple, but the ball became dead as soon as it was touched by A2, and the free throw had ended.

Do we call a free throw violation after the free throw had ended?

Can we call a violation when the ball is already dead?

Do we call free throw violations on teams, or on individual players?

When the coach asks, "Who was the violation on?" (ball not touching the ring), do we answer A1 (shooter), or A2 (toucher)?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Oct 28, 2025 at 03:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2025, 11:47am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
What's Good For The Goose Is Good For The Gander ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
The ball failed to hit the rim on a free throw attempt. Why can't we just call the violation on the shooting team?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Good idea, seems simple ...
Nobody should be touching the ball during a free throw attempt, offense or defense.

Verboten!

That's why it's called a free throw, free of any interference.

Been that way for at least forty-four years, always very harshly penalized with a technical foul.

In regard to free throws, why change the rule?

If it ain't broke, don't fix it!



__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Oct 28, 2025 at 12:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 30, 2025, 06:01pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,994
If those are past interpretations, where is the technical foul? Sounds like they are interpreting it the same way I say we should do it now if there is no such thing as offensive goaltending.

Has anything come out in the intervening years that invalidates those interpretations?

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Sun Nov 30, 2025 at 06:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 30, 2025, 06:11pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
Bizzare ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
If those are past interpretations, where is the technical foul?
Sorry if I confused you moving back and forth from offensive to defensive goaltending on free throws.

They are from the past.

"A player touches the ball outside the cylinder during a free-throw attempt" was added to the definition of goaltending in 1981.

What makes them bizarre is that no technical foul is called (as was the rule back then), but also the bizarre inbound spot (Cadillac position well after such free throw line extended Cadillac position for balls that entered the basket but did not count was eliminated).

Read the old Forum link:

https://forum.officiating.com/basket...ml#post1039858

These past interpretations are dumpster fires.

My point was that, at least two times in the past, the NFHS did care about the act of offensive goaltending of a free throw.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 30, 2025 at 06:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 30, 2025, 06:50pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,994
Yes they did. They said it was a violation just like I said it should be. I'm not confused.

The throw-in spot ruling depends on where the appropriate throwing spot is for violations and fouls within the semicircle. That's of little consequence to me in this conversation.



Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Sun Nov 30, 2025 at 07:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2025, 12:30pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
1981 Through 2024 ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
They said it was a violation just like I said it should be.
Agree with your free throw violation interpretation, especially now for such action by the offense, but such situations were, from 1981, and through 2024, also, by rule, technical fouls.

Free throw violations by the defense do not count the basket, just award another free throw, so it's important to note that the goaltending penalty (count basket) probably "trumps" the free throw violation penalty.

If both occur on the same play, by the defense, use the penalty for goaltending (count the basket).

The two offensive free throw goaltending case plays I presented in my recent posts were pre 2025 case plays.

9.12 SITUATION B: On the second of two free-throw attempts by A1, the ball is touched outside the cylinder by A2. RULING: No points can be scored. A2’s actions are ruled a violation. B will be given the ball for a throw-in on the sideline at the free-throw line extended. (9-1 Penalty 1)

9.12 SITUATION B: On the second of two free-throw attempts by A1, the ball is touched outside the cylinder by A2. RULING: No points can be scored. A2’s actions are ruled a violation. B will be given the ball for a throw-in from the designated out of bounds spot nearest the violation. (9-1 Penalty 1)

Why no technical fouls in the rulings?

My point was that, at least two times in the past, the NFHS did care about the act of offensive goaltending of a free throw.

Do they still care?

Is it still a technical foul (unsporting or otherwise) and a free throw violation (free throw ends with touch, ball doesn't hit rim in ten seconds) for an offensive player to "goaltend" (the action, not the definition) a free throw, with penalties for "goaltending" a free throw?

I sadly believe that it is no longer a technical foul (possibly just a free throw violation), but I would like it to be a technical foul (as it was for forty-three years), possibly unsporting, thus I would like the offensive situation confirmed.

IAABOs recent "word salad" clarification regarding free throw goaltending has confused me.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Dec 01, 2025 at 01:42pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2025, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,343
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Agree with your free throw violation interpretation, especially now for such action by the offense, but such situations were, from 1981, and through 2024, also, by rule, technical fouls.

Free throw violations by the defense do not count the basket, just award another free throw, so it's important to note that the goaltending penalty (count basket) probably "trumps" the free throw violation penalty.

If both occur on the same play, by the defense, use the penalty for goaltending (count the basket).

The two offensive free throw goaltending case plays I presented in my recent posts were pre 2025 case plays.

9.12 SITUATION B: On the second of two free-throw attempts by A1, the ball is touched outside the cylinder by A2. RULING: No points can be scored. A2’s actions are ruled a violation. B will be given the ball for a throw-in on the sideline at the free-throw line extended. (9-1 Penalty 1)

9.12 SITUATION B: On the second of two free-throw attempts by A1, the ball is touched outside the cylinder by A2. RULING: No points can be scored. A2’s actions are ruled a violation. B will be given the ball for a throw-in from the designated out of bounds spot nearest the violation. (9-1 Penalty 1)

Why no technical fouls in the rulings?

My point was that, at least two times in the past, the NFHS did care about the act of offensive goaltending of a free throw.

Do they still care?

Is it still a technical foul (unsporting or otherwise) and a free throw violation (free throw ends with touch, ball doesn't hit rim in ten seconds) for an offensive player to "goaltend" (the action, not the definition) a free throw, with penalties for "goaltending" a free throw?

I sadly believe that it is no longer a technical foul (possibly just a free throw violation), but I would like it to be a technical foul (as it was for forty-three years), possibly unsporting, thus I would like the offensive situation confirmed.

IAABOs recent "word salad" clarification regarding free throw goaltending has confused me.
In the 2024-25 book those plays are technicals. 9.12 sit B is a different play now. Would of been nice if they kept the same play and changed the ruling
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2025, 04:33pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,994
Since they say there's no longer any offensive goaltending by definition, the case play informs us how to handle such an action by the offense during a free throw. A failure of the committee would be not adding that to the free throw violation list.

Billy, do you still have a copy of last year's (or earlier) case play and it's wording which led to the ruling of a technical foul?

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 01, 2025, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,343
9.12 SITUATION B: On the second of two free-throw attempts by A1, the ball is touched outside the cylinder by A2. RULING: No points can be scored. A2's actions are ruled a violation. A2 is also assessed a technical foul. Team B will be given two free throws. Following the free throws Team B will be awarded the ball for a designated spot throw-in at the division line opposite the table. (9-1 Penalty 1, 10-4-9)

Last year's book
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goaltending Scrapper1 Basketball 4 Mon Sep 14, 2015 04:34pm
Goaltending jc147119 Basketball 3 Tue Dec 30, 2008 05:14pm
Offensive Goaltending? wanja Basketball 24 Sat Apr 05, 2008 09:17am
Offensive Goaltending: WHY? rotationslim Basketball 26 Tue Jun 15, 2004 07:23pm
Offensive Goaltending ebayman00 Basketball 33 Sat Apr 29, 2000 10:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1