The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Blarge (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106127-blarge.html)

bob jenkins Fri Dec 15, 2023 10:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1051714)
TThe Official whose has the Ball at the start of the drive takes the Call.

That's not always the NCAAW mechanic

Raymond Sat Dec 16, 2023 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051705)
Thanks.



Can it be solved?

To me it's quite simple and there is nothing to be solved.

If an offensive player commits a foul while there is team control, the ball is immediately dead, whether it's part of a single foul or a double foul. It was actually part of NCAA Men's preseason clinic videos a couple years in conjunction with the expansion of replay review, and their rules are the same as high school in regards to this situation.

It's clean and simple.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sat Dec 16, 2023 10:42am

Keep It Clean And Simple ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1051716)
If an offensive player commits a foul while there is team control, the ball is immediately dead ....

Which allows a successful goal be scored if the try is released (no team control) before the illegal contact by an offensive player and the try is a successful after the illegal contact by an offensive player, while denying that such a successful goal be scored if the try is released after the illegal contact (no team control) by an offensive player?

6-7-4: The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when: A player-control or team-control foul occurs. Exception: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap for field goal ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when: c. Article 7 (a foul, other than player-control or team-control, occurs) occurs by any opponent of a player who has started a try or tap for field goal (is in the act of shooting) before the foul occurred, provided time did not expire before the ball was in flight … continuous motion.

Sounds simple and rational.

But this is a double foul, which supposedly, by tradition (I've heard this "blarge" explanation for over forty years), is neither a team/player control foul, nor a foul by an opponent of the shooter.

However, on the third hand we have this:

6.7.4 SITUATION: Airborne A1 is fouled by B1 during a field-goal try or tap. After the ball is in flight, A1 illegally contacts B2 in returning to the floor. The ball goes through the basket. RULING: The foul by B1 did not cause the ball to become dead since A1 had started the trying or tapping motion. However, airborne shooter A1’s foul is a player-control foul which does cause the ball to become dead immediately. No goal can be scored even if the ball had already gone through the basket before the foul. Since the goal is unsuccessful, A1 is awarded two free throws for the foul by B1. No players are allowed in the lane spaces as Team B will be awarded the ball following the last free throw. If the last throw is successful, the throw-in is from anywhere along the end line. If the last throw is unsuccessful, the throw-in is from a designated spot nearest the foul. The situation is a false double foul. (4-11; 4-19-6)

But this (above), on the fourth hand, is not a double foul, it's a false double foul.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Dec 16, 2023 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051715)
That's not always the NCAAW mechanic

Bob:

I was writing quickly. I knew that it was not as simple as that but back in the middle and late 1980s the procedure was introduced in CCA's Women's Two- and Three-Person Officials Manual. I am sure that the procedure has been refined since I retired from college officiating in 2008. But the fact still remains: By Rule, it is has never been possible to have a "blarge". The NCAA Women's Committee understood this from the start while the NFHS and NCAA Men's Committees still cling to a 65 year-plus impossibility.

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Sat Dec 16, 2023 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051717)

But this is a double foul, which supposedly, by tradition (I've heard this "blarge" explanation for over forty years), is neither a team/player control foul, nor a foul by an opponent of the shooter.

It's not "supposedly" or "by tradition."

It's right in the definitions. I don't have time for all the references, but a PC foul is a common foul. A common foul is not part of a double foul.

And, that's the reason for the case play allowing the basket when the ball has been released.

BillyMac Sun Dec 17, 2023 02:56pm

Fouls ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051727)
I don't have time for all the references, but a PC foul is a common foul. A common foul is not part of a double foul.

A common foul is a personal foul which is neither flagrant nor intentional nor committed against a player trying or tapping for a field goal nor a part of a double, simultaneous or multiple foul.

A player-control foul is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter.

A double personal foul is a situation in which two opponents commit personal fouls against each other at approximately the same time.

BillyMac Sun Dec 17, 2023 04:34pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051703)
4-11-2 and -3 (continuous motion) conflict;

4-11-2: If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight.

4-11-3: Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately.

Is a "teammate" be the same as the "player" (shooter) himself?

Raymond Mon Dec 18, 2023 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051733)
4-11-2: If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight.

4-11-3: Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately.

Is a "teammate" be the same as the "player" (shooter) himself?

Three days ago from Raymond:

"4-11-3 is the closest thing that addresses it. If a teammate of A1 was part of the double foul, continuous motion would not apply. Nowhere have I read there's an exception if A1 themself is part of the double foul."

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Mon Dec 18, 2023 12:47pm

Not Going To Die On This Hill ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1051735)
Nowhere have I read there's an exception if A1 themself is part of the double foul.

Nor does it say that a player is also a teammate of himself, even though he probably is.

As Raymond said "4-11-3 is the closest thing that addresses it."

Closest doesn't mean the same as "touching", it's just real close.

I'm not going to die on any hill regarding this "before the release" situation.

This may be one of those issues that only the NFHS can fully address, not the rule "experts" on the Forum.

I'm not being sarcastic here, I truly do view many Forum posters as rule experts.

Raymond Wed Dec 20, 2023 07:52am

Based on a FB post I just read by the NCAA-Women's Rules Editor, in their games the ball is immediately dead if the try has not been released and there is a double foul. So in both Men's and Women's College there is no continuous motion on a double foul. As far as I know, there is no discernable difference in the rule at the HS level.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1