The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Blarge (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/106127-blarge.html)

Zoochy Wed Dec 13, 2023 05:29pm

Blarge
 
A1 drives to the Basket. A1 makes contact with B1. A1 then releases the ball and the ball goes in the basket.
Double whistle. Referee 1 signals Player Control. Referee 2 signals Block

Would a Blarge ruling be different if A1 goes airborne, releases the Try and crashes into B1 before A1 returns to the floor?
Again, Double whistle. Referee 1 signals Player Control. Referee 2 signals Block

Raymond Wed Dec 13, 2023 08:32pm

Yes, it makes a difference whether or not to try was released prior to the illegal contact called against A1.

If A1 still has possession, point of interruption would be team A's possession.

If the try had been released, and is successful, point of interruption is team B's throw in.

If the try has been released and the shot is missed, AP arrow.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Thu Dec 14, 2023 09:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1051683)
A1 drives to the Basket. A1 makes contact with B1. A1 then releases the ball and the ball goes in the basket.
Double whistle. Referee 1 signals Player Control. Referee 2 signals Block

Would a Blarge ruling be different if A1 goes airborne, releases the Try and crashes into B1 before A1 returns to the floor?
Again, Double whistle. Referee 1 signals Player Control. Referee 2 signals Block

A PC foul is a Common Foul, and a Common Foul cannot be part of a Double Foul.

So, the ball does not become dead on A1'S foul. If the try has been released, count the goal. No FTs and B gets the ball for a throw-in. If the try is unsuccessful, use the arrow.

I think the ruling is the same if A1 has started the try but has not released the ball.

If A1 has not started the try, give the ball back to A.

See 4.19.8C

BillyMac Thu Dec 14, 2023 11:33am

Ancient Times ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1051685)
Yes, it makes a difference whether or not to try was released prior to the illegal contact called against A1.

Forgetting about the double foul aspect here, back in ancient times, if the try was released prior to the player control illegal contact, the basket counted (if good) and (if in the bonus) we walked down to the other end of the gym to shoot one an one (no two shot "double bonus" back then).

Both coaches were often perplexed and didn't know whether, or not, to be angry at us.

BillyMac Thu Dec 14, 2023 11:35am

Blarge Citation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051686)
See 4.19.8C

4.19.8 SITUATION C: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball. Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter A1 returns one foot to the floor. One official rules a blocking foul on B1 and the other official rules a charging foul on A1. The try is (a) successful, or (b) not successful. RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try. In (a), the goal is scored; play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. In (b), the point of interruption is a try in flight; therefore the alternating-possession procedure is used. (4-36)

Zoochy Thu Dec 14, 2023 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051686)
A PC foul is a Common Foul, and a Common Foul cannot be part of a Double Foul.

So, the ball does not become dead on A1'S foul. If the try has been released, count the goal. No FTs and B gets the ball for a throw-in. If the try is unsuccessful, use the arrow.

I think the ruling is the same if A1 has started the try but has not released the ball.

If A1 has not started the try, give the ball back to A.

See 4.19.8C

------------------------------
I know my 2nd play is Case Book 4.19.8C

My real question is Play 1
So are you indicating that Continuous Motion (Rule 4-11-1 & 2 and Fundamental #17) can be implemented into the 1st Double Foul play? How can you have Continuous Motion on an Offensive Foul?

Raymond Thu Dec 14, 2023 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1051690)
------------------------------

I know my 2nd play is Case Book 4.19.8C



My real question is Play 1

So are you indicating that Continuous Motion (Rule 4-11-1 & 2 and Fundamental #17) can be implemented into the 1st Double Foul play? How can you have Continuous Motion on an Offensive Foul?

Whether or not A1 has released the try most definitely plays into the ruling. There is no continuous motion if the contact occurs while the ball is still in his control.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Thu Dec 14, 2023 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 1051690)
------------------------------
I know my 2nd play is Case Book 4.19.8C

My real question is Play 1
So are you indicating that Continuous Motion (Rule 4-11-1 & 2 and Fundamental #17) can be implemented into the 1st Double Foul play? How can you have Continuous Motion on an Offensive Foul?

We have had this discussion multiple times -- with no clear consensus. Nor have I seen an official interp on this.

The ball doesn't become dead when the defense fouls (the rule does NOT say "single defensive foul" or similar) and a try has been started. And, since it's not a PC foul, ...

Raymond Thu Dec 14, 2023 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051692)
We have had this discussion multiple times -- with no clear consensus. Nor have I seen an official interp on this.



The ball doesn't become dead when the defense fouls (the rule does NOT say "single defensive foul" or similar) and a try has been started. And, since it's not a PC foul, ...

I don't remember any conversations here about that nor it ever being in dispute.

4-11-3 is the closest thing that addresses it. If a teammate of A1 was part of the double foul, continuous motion would not apply. Nowhere have I read there's an exception if A1 themself is part of the double foul.



Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Thu Dec 14, 2023 04:01pm

Dead Or Alive ...
 
I'm having trouble following this thread.

4.19.8 SITUATION C: ... after the release ... The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try.

This situation is after the release.

Is it the same (not dead) before the release due to continuous motion?

Is that what's being debated?

Raymond Thu Dec 14, 2023 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051694)
I'm having trouble following this thread.

4.19.8 SITUATION C: ... after the release ... The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try.

This situation is after the release.

Is it the same (not dead) before the release due to continuous motion?

Is that what's being debated?

That is what Bob is asserting.

I never heard or read that stance before.

The only exception for a try to count when a shooter has committed a foul is when the try is released and there is a double foul. The exception doesn't say "once the shooter has begun their continuous motion".

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Fri Dec 15, 2023 08:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051694)
I'm having trouble following this thread.

4.19.8 SITUATION C: ... after the release ... The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try.

This situation is after the release.

Is it the same (not dead) before the release due to continuous motion?

Is that what's being debated?

4-11-2 and -3 (continuous motion) conflict; both are true in a double foul.

6-7-7 (dead ball) comes into play -- does exception C apply?

That's the issue.

BillyMac Fri Dec 15, 2023 01:13pm

To Be, Or Not To Be (Prince Hamlet, Hamlet, William Shakespeare) ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051703)
That's the issue.

Thanks.

Can it be solved?

Camron Rust Fri Dec 15, 2023 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051692)
We have had this discussion multiple times -- with no clear consensus. Nor have I seen an official interp on this.

The ball doesn't become dead when the defense fouls (the rule does NOT say "single defensive foul" or similar) and a try has been started. And, since it's not a PC foul, ...

6-7-7 Makes the ball dead because the exception only applies for an opponent fouling. In the case of a double foul, you have an offensive foul too, this the dead ball is excepted for the defensive part of the foul but it is dead because a foul other than PC/TC has occurred and it wasn't by the defense. 6-7-7 list a bunch of conditions that all make the ball dead. If any one of them occur and are not excepted, the ball is dead.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Dec 15, 2023 07:19pm

The dreaded "blarge" has been in the NFHS and NCAA Men's Rules since the days of the NBC despite the fact that when it comes to B1 being "guilty" of a Block and A1 being "guilty" of a Charge, by Rule a "blarge" cannot occur. Either B1 has Obtained (NFHS and NCAA Women's)/Established (NCAA Men's) a LGP or B1 has NOT Obtained (NFHS and NCAA Women's)/Established (NCAA Men's) a LGP.

The NCAA Women's Rules has done it correctly every since the NCAA Women's Rules Committee supplanted the AIAW. The Official whose has the Ball at the start of the drive takes the Call.

I know that I am going to catch "heck" from some people for what I am about to say but from the very start of my officiating career I pre-gamed "blarges" out of my boys'/girls' JrHS/HS, and men's jr. college/college JV games. Because as I have stated for almost 60 years the Rules state that "blarges" CANNOT happen.

Enjoy the weekend everyone!

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 15, 2023 10:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1051714)
TThe Official whose has the Ball at the start of the drive takes the Call.

That's not always the NCAAW mechanic

Raymond Sat Dec 16, 2023 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051705)
Thanks.



Can it be solved?

To me it's quite simple and there is nothing to be solved.

If an offensive player commits a foul while there is team control, the ball is immediately dead, whether it's part of a single foul or a double foul. It was actually part of NCAA Men's preseason clinic videos a couple years in conjunction with the expansion of replay review, and their rules are the same as high school in regards to this situation.

It's clean and simple.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Sat Dec 16, 2023 10:42am

Keep It Clean And Simple ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1051716)
If an offensive player commits a foul while there is team control, the ball is immediately dead ....

Which allows a successful goal be scored if the try is released (no team control) before the illegal contact by an offensive player and the try is a successful after the illegal contact by an offensive player, while denying that such a successful goal be scored if the try is released after the illegal contact (no team control) by an offensive player?

6-7-4: The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when: A player-control or team-control foul occurs. Exception: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap for field goal ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when: c. Article 7 (a foul, other than player-control or team-control, occurs) occurs by any opponent of a player who has started a try or tap for field goal (is in the act of shooting) before the foul occurred, provided time did not expire before the ball was in flight … continuous motion.

Sounds simple and rational.

But this is a double foul, which supposedly, by tradition (I've heard this "blarge" explanation for over forty years), is neither a team/player control foul, nor a foul by an opponent of the shooter.

However, on the third hand we have this:

6.7.4 SITUATION: Airborne A1 is fouled by B1 during a field-goal try or tap. After the ball is in flight, A1 illegally contacts B2 in returning to the floor. The ball goes through the basket. RULING: The foul by B1 did not cause the ball to become dead since A1 had started the trying or tapping motion. However, airborne shooter A1’s foul is a player-control foul which does cause the ball to become dead immediately. No goal can be scored even if the ball had already gone through the basket before the foul. Since the goal is unsuccessful, A1 is awarded two free throws for the foul by B1. No players are allowed in the lane spaces as Team B will be awarded the ball following the last free throw. If the last throw is successful, the throw-in is from anywhere along the end line. If the last throw is unsuccessful, the throw-in is from a designated spot nearest the foul. The situation is a false double foul. (4-11; 4-19-6)

But this (above), on the fourth hand, is not a double foul, it's a false double foul.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Dec 16, 2023 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051715)
That's not always the NCAAW mechanic

Bob:

I was writing quickly. I knew that it was not as simple as that but back in the middle and late 1980s the procedure was introduced in CCA's Women's Two- and Three-Person Officials Manual. I am sure that the procedure has been refined since I retired from college officiating in 2008. But the fact still remains: By Rule, it is has never been possible to have a "blarge". The NCAA Women's Committee understood this from the start while the NFHS and NCAA Men's Committees still cling to a 65 year-plus impossibility.

MTD, Sr.

bob jenkins Sat Dec 16, 2023 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051717)

But this is a double foul, which supposedly, by tradition (I've heard this "blarge" explanation for over forty years), is neither a team/player control foul, nor a foul by an opponent of the shooter.

It's not "supposedly" or "by tradition."

It's right in the definitions. I don't have time for all the references, but a PC foul is a common foul. A common foul is not part of a double foul.

And, that's the reason for the case play allowing the basket when the ball has been released.

BillyMac Sun Dec 17, 2023 02:56pm

Fouls ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051727)
I don't have time for all the references, but a PC foul is a common foul. A common foul is not part of a double foul.

A common foul is a personal foul which is neither flagrant nor intentional nor committed against a player trying or tapping for a field goal nor a part of a double, simultaneous or multiple foul.

A player-control foul is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter.

A double personal foul is a situation in which two opponents commit personal fouls against each other at approximately the same time.

BillyMac Sun Dec 17, 2023 04:34pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1051703)
4-11-2 and -3 (continuous motion) conflict;

4-11-2: If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight.

4-11-3: Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately.

Is a "teammate" be the same as the "player" (shooter) himself?

Raymond Mon Dec 18, 2023 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1051733)
4-11-2: If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight.

4-11-3: Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately.

Is a "teammate" be the same as the "player" (shooter) himself?

Three days ago from Raymond:

"4-11-3 is the closest thing that addresses it. If a teammate of A1 was part of the double foul, continuous motion would not apply. Nowhere have I read there's an exception if A1 themself is part of the double foul."

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Mon Dec 18, 2023 12:47pm

Not Going To Die On This Hill ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1051735)
Nowhere have I read there's an exception if A1 themself is part of the double foul.

Nor does it say that a player is also a teammate of himself, even though he probably is.

As Raymond said "4-11-3 is the closest thing that addresses it."

Closest doesn't mean the same as "touching", it's just real close.

I'm not going to die on any hill regarding this "before the release" situation.

This may be one of those issues that only the NFHS can fully address, not the rule "experts" on the Forum.

I'm not being sarcastic here, I truly do view many Forum posters as rule experts.

Raymond Wed Dec 20, 2023 07:52am

Based on a FB post I just read by the NCAA-Women's Rules Editor, in their games the ball is immediately dead if the try has not been released and there is a double foul. So in both Men's and Women's College there is no continuous motion on a double foul. As far as I know, there is no discernable difference in the rule at the HS level.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1