The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 02, 2023, 10:20am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Step Out Of Bounds ...

I know that we’ve already gone over this, but it was a small part of a long thread on all the rule changes and I wanted to make a single thread about it.

My local new rules meeting isn’t until Wednesday, October 18, 2023.

I was officiating an odd autumn in-district interscholastic middle school game last week. Since we haven’t had our local new rules meeting yet, nor have the coaches, we were told to only use the new bonus rule (fifth of quarter) and no other new rules (at least not until after our meeting).

At halftime, my partner, who wasn't aware of any of the rule changes, asked what they were. I quickly went through the list and then when I came to the new rule regarding stepping out of bounds I hesitated and stumbled, realizing that I really didn't understand the new rule.

2023-24 NFHS Basketball Rule Change

9-3-3: Establishes that a player may step out of bounds without penalty unless they are the first player to touch the ball after returning to the court or if they left the court to avoid a violation. Rationale: Allows a player to step out of bounds if they gain no advantage and penalizes a team only if they gain an advantage by leaving the court and returning to avoid a violation or to be the first to touch the ball.

9-3-3: Establishing that a player may step out of bounds without penalty unless they are the first player to touch the ball after returning to the court or if they left the court to avoid a violation allows the game to continue without stoppage when the player’s actions did not create an advantage. When an advantage is gained by a player purposely leaving the court and being the first one to touch the ball or leaving the court to avoid a violation, an advantage is gained, and a violation has occurred.


Why the rule change?

Why wait for the touch inbounds?

We already have this rule:

9-3-3: A player must not leave the court for an unauthorized reason.

Or has it been deleted and replaced by above?

If a player sneaks off the court (maybe trying to blend in with his bench) we can call the 9-3-3 violation as soon as we realize that he’s gained an advantage, and don’t have to wait for a ball touch inbounds. The player left the court for an unauthorized reason and gained an advantage. Violation!

Now if a player leaves the court due to his momentum, an authorized reason, and comes back and is the first to ball touch inbounds, that’s a still legal? Right?

I’d like to get this new rule straight in my mind before our local meeting so I know to ask pertinent questions.

In the earlier thread, JRutledge was kind enough to post the NCAA rule for comparison.

NCAA Rule Section 3 Player Out of Bounds

Art. 1. A player who steps out of bounds under the player's own volition and then becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court has committed a violation.
a. A violation has not been committed when a player, who steps out of
bounds as permitted by Rule 7-4.6.b, does not receive the pass along the
end line from a teammate and is the first to touch the ball after returning to the playing court.
b. A player whose momentum causes that player to go out of bounds may be the first to touch the ball inbounds if that player reestablishes one foot inbounds prior to touching the ball.


NFHS Caseplays Player Out Of Bounds Leaving The Court

9.3.3 SITUATION A: A1 receives a pass while in the restricted area of the lane. A1 passes the ball to A2 outside the three-point line. In order to get the three-second count stopped, A1 steps directly out of bounds under A's basket. RULING: A1 is charged with a violation for leaving the court for an unauthorized reason. (9-3-3)

9.3.3 SITUATION B: A1 and A2 set a double screen near the end line. A3 intentionally goes out of bounds outside the end line to have his/her defender detained by the double screen. RULING: The official shall call a violation on A3 as soon as he/she steps out of bounds. The ball is awarded to Team B at a designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred.

9.3.3 SITUATION C: A1 and A2 set a double screen near the end line. B3 intentionally goes out of bounds outside the end line to avoid being detained by A1 and A2. Just as B3 goes out of bounds, A3's try is in flight. RULING: B3 is called for a leaving-the-floor violation. Team A will receive the ball out of bounds at a spot nearest to where the violation occurred. Since the violation is on the defense, the ball does not become dead until the try has ended. If the try is successful, it will count. (6-7-9 Exception d)



__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 02, 2023, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,235
The rule you posted has been replaced with this new rule.

NFHS being Silly NFHS. Now we have the situation where 9.3.3 B where you have L observing the player going OOB now has to know when the pass was released from an area where normally they shouldn't be looking or might not even be able to see at all.

Only reason I can think of for the change is it was being called too much or wrongly. Don't know if this will reduce the amount of times it is called but I can guarantee it would be called .much more wrongly that it will be called correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 02, 2023, 11:23am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Replaced ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
The rule you posted has been replaced with this new rule.
Thanks.

I never had any problems with the old rules.

The "momentum" rule was easy to enforce by ignoring.

Note: Unlike the NCAA, the NFHS doesn't mention "momentum".

Does that mean that we now have to call it if the "momentum" out of bounds player is the first to touch the ball after back in bounds? Has he gained an advantage if allowed to do so?

I've only observed the "going out of bounds to use a screen" rule called once in forty-four years. Never called it myself.

On a "going out of bounds to use a screen" situation, do we now have to wait for the first to touch the ball after back in bounds to call the violation?

It looks like the "avoid three seconds" rule is still in place.

Thank God for small favors.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Oct 02, 2023 at 11:29am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 02, 2023, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,235
NFHS rule uses "own volition".

ART. 3 . . . A player shall not step out of bounds under the player's own volition and then become the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court or to avoid a violation. PENALTY:

Last edited by SNIPERBBB; Mon Oct 02, 2023 at 11:56am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2023, 10:52am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
First To Touch The Ball ???

9-3-3: Establishes that a player may step out of bounds without penalty unless they are the first player to touch the ball after returning to the court or if they left the court to avoid a violation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
... now has to know when the pass was released from an area where normally they shouldn't be looking or might not even be able to see at all.
A2 runs out of bounds around a double screen and comes back onto the court and catches a pass from A1 ...

A) A1 was holding (touching) the ball after A2 reentered the playing court.

B) A1's pass was already on the way (released) after A2 reentered the playing court.

Legal in A, illegal in B?

First to touch?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Oct 12, 2023 at 12:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2023, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
9-3-3: Establishes that a player may step out of bounds without penalty unless they are the first player to touch the ball after returning to the court or if they left the court to avoid a violation.



A2 runs out of bounds around a double screen and comes back onto the court and catches a pass from A1 ...

A) A1 was holding(touching) the ball after A2 reentered the playing court.

B) A1's pass was already on the way (released) after A2 reentered the playing court.

Legal in A, illegal in B?

First to touch?
Both a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2023, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Both a violation.
The way I understood the interpreters presentation the other day A would be legal.

Last edited by SNIPERBBB; Thu Oct 12, 2023 at 05:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2023, 01:50pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
The way I understood the interpreters predeythr other day A would be legal.
I am not sure what you mean by "interpreters predeythr" but in A it is legal if the never throw the ball to the player or throw it to another player first.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2023, 06:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
The way I understood the interpreters presentation the other day A would be legal.
Either your interpreter or your understanding of what was said is incorrect.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2023, 12:30pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Win, Place, Show ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
9-3-3: Establishes that a player may step out of bounds without penalty unless they are the first player to touch the ball after returning to the court or if they left the court to avoid a violation.

A2 runs out of bounds around a double screen and comes back onto the court and catches a pass from A1 ... A1 was holding (touching) the ball after A2 reentered the playing court
Wouldn't A2 be the second to touch the ball after returning to the court?

Wouldn't A1 be the first to touch the ball the ball after A2 returned to the court?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2023, 12:56pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Wouldn't A2 be the second to touch the ball after returning to the court?

Wouldn't A1 be the first to touch the ball the ball after A2 returned to the court?
Under your logic the rule would only apply if A2 came inbounds when no other player has PC.

The point of that particular element of the rule is to prevent A1 passing to A2 after A2 returns inbounds.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2023, 01:16pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Purpose And Intent ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Under your logic the rule would only apply if A2 came inbounds when no other player has PC.

The point of that particular element of the rule is to prevent A1 passing to A2 after A2 returns inbounds.
Gotta agree with you but that's not what the rule states.

This certainly would be illegal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
A2 runs out of bounds around a double screen and comes back onto the court and catches a pass from A1 ... A1's pass was already on the way (released) after A2 reentered the playing court.
9-3-3: Establishes that a player may step out of bounds without penalty unless they are the first player to touch the ball after returning to the court ...

I've got lot of questions regarding the wording of this new rule.

Hopefully some new casebook plays (I haven't gotten my new casebook yet), or new annual interpretations (due soon) will clear this up.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2023, 01:51pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Under your logic the rule would only apply if A2 came inbounds when no other player has PC.

The point of that particular element of the rule is to prevent A1 passing to A2 after A2 returns inbounds.
Or to prevent a player to go out of bounds and get a loose ball. Not as common but both situations fit under this rule.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 02, 2023, 11:11am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
More Thoughts ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
We already have this rule:

9-3-3: A player must not leave the court for an unauthorized reason.

Or has it been deleted and replaced by above?
If the "old" 9-3-3 has been deleted, does that mean that this situation (below) is now legal if A3 is not the first to touch the ball?

A1 and A2 set a double screen near the end line. A3 intentionally goes out of bounds outside the end line to have his/her defender detained by the double screen.

And that this situation (below) is still illegal?

A1 receives a pass while in the restricted area of the lane. A1 passes the ball to A2 outside the three-point line. In order to get the three-second count stopped, A1 steps directly out of bounds under A's basket.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Oct 02, 2023 at 11:24am.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 02, 2023, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
The rule you posted has been replaced with this new rule.

NFHS being Silly NFHS. Now we have the situation where 9.3.3 B where you have L observing the player going OOB now has to know when the pass was released from an area where normally they shouldn't be looking or might not even be able to see at all.

Only reason I can think of for the change is it was being called too much or wrongly. Don't know if this will reduce the amount of times it is called but I can guarantee it would be called .much more wrongly that it will be called correctly.
It matches it yup with the college rule and it's easy to enforce. And, imo, it's more fitting -- the old rule wasn't called because A didn't really gain an advantage if no one passed them the ball.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
If the "old" 9-3-3 has been deleted, does that mean that this situation (below) is now legal if A3 is not the first to touch the ball?

A1 and A2 set a double screen near the end line. A3 intentionally goes out of bounds outside the end line to have his/her defender detained by the double screen.

And that this situation (below) is still illegal?

A1 receives a pass while in the restricted area of the lane. A1 passes the ball to A2 outside the three-point line. In order to get the three-second count stopped, A1 steps directly out of bounds under A's basket.
Yes and Yes. The second case (no matter where it might be posted) is a three-second violation case, not a "going out of bounds" violation case.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8.01(a) (3) - Step off JPaco54 Baseball 3 Tue Jun 09, 2009 05:58pm
The next big step...or at least the first one ToGreySt Football 6 Wed Nov 01, 2006 01:14pm
When to step in? hooper Basketball 5 Thu Mar 02, 2006 08:03am
Interception out-of-bounds tossed to another player in-bounds mrcrumley Football 22 Wed Oct 27, 2004 07:32am
Step out of bounds co2ice Basketball 29 Tue Feb 10, 2004 03:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1