The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 01, 2003, 04:57am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Once it has begun, substitutions are allowed. Only caveat, whoever is removed has to wait until the clock runs before they're allowed to reenter. [/B]
Strictly speaking, this is not correct.

Secondly, I believe that the player who was taken out of the starting line-up can enter the game as a substitute after the technical foul free throws are attempted, but before any time has run off the clock, since he actually has never been in the game yet.

For example:
Let's say that B6 was swapped for designated starter B1 and attempted the first shot, then B7 came in for B2 and attempted the second free throw. Before the ball is given to a player of Team B for the division line throw-in (since there will not be a jump ball to start the game) the coach of Team B now wants B1, B2, and B8 to enter. If they all had properly reported to the scorer prior to the dead ball following the second free throw attempt, I say that B1 and B8 can enter since there are no restrictions upon them as neither has yet participated in the game (even though B1 was originally designated as a starter), but B2 must wait until the next opportunity after the clock has properly started, since he started the game and then was replaced.

If anyone can find a rule of casebook play which contradicts any of this, please let me know.

[/B][/QUOTE]NFHS rule 3-3-4 says that B1 cannot re-enter after being replaced. Has B1 been in the game? According to the scorebook,he most certainly has. He's listed as a designated starter, and the game certainly has started. B1 is NOT erased from the book as being a designated starter in this situation, is he?

Can you find a rule or a casebook play that will contradict rule 3-3-4? If you can, please let us know.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Nov 1st, 2003 at 10:25 AM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1