The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Technical Free (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/10601-technical-free.html)

Ridgeben Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:26pm

Technical Free Throw ?
 

Player dunks ball in pregame. Player gets technical foul.
B2- who is not a starter, is inserted to shoot free throws. He misses the first one, the coach wants to change shooters to B-3 (another bench player). Can B-3 come off the bench to shoot the second free throw?

Hawks Coach Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:47pm

This is nodifferent than any other tech FT - allow the sub, assuming B-3 was not the player B-2 subbed in for :)

bob jenkins Mon Oct 27, 2003 01:01pm

Re: Technical Free Throw ?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Ridgeben

Player dunks ball in pregame. Player gets technical foul.
B2- who is not a starter, is inserted to shoot free throws. He misses the first one, the coach wants to change shooters to B-3 (another bench player). Can B-3 come off the bench to shoot the second free throw?

FED: Yes
NCAA: No

Hawks Coach Mon Oct 27, 2003 04:31pm

Where in NCAA book does it say that you can't have multiple subs shoot?

Ridgeben Mon Oct 27, 2003 04:50pm

Where does it say in the NFHS that you can split up the tech free throws?

Hawks Coach Mon Oct 27, 2003 04:53pm

OOPS
 
Duh - I found it for both in Rule 8, 8-3 in NFHS and 8-2-3.

Ridgeben Mon Oct 27, 2003 04:55pm

Sure does, sorry, was a bit lazy on that one...

Chuck Lewis Mon Oct 27, 2003 11:00pm

Starting the game with free throws and subs entering before actual play has begun... How does this affect the starting lineup that's suppose to be submitted 10 minutes prior to the start of the game game?

bob jenkins Tue Oct 28, 2003 08:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by Chuck Lewis
Starting the game with free throws and subs entering before actual play has begun... How does this affect the starting lineup that's suppose to be submitted 10 minutes prior to the start of the game game?
The starting line-up changes; but it's legal.

Camron Rust Tue Oct 28, 2003 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Chuck Lewis
Starting the game with free throws and subs entering before actual play has begun... How does this affect the starting lineup that's suppose to be submitted 10 minutes prior to the start of the game game?
Effectively, the infraction which drew the technical foul started the game. Once it has begun, substitutions are allowed. Only caveat, whoever is removed has to wait until the clock runs before they're allowed to reenter.

yankeesfan Wed Oct 29, 2003 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Chuck Lewis
Starting the game with free throws and subs entering before actual play has begun... How does this affect the starting lineup that's suppose to be submitted 10 minutes prior to the start of the game game?
The starting line-up changes; but it's legal.

does B3 who shot the last technical foul have to start the game or can the original starting 5 that were marked in the book start? Also, is it correct there will be no jump ball, B will have a throw in from mid court and the possession arrow is set to team A?

Nevadaref Thu Oct 30, 2003 07:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Chuck Lewis
Starting the game with free throws and subs entering before actual play has begun... How does this affect the starting lineup that's suppose to be submitted 10 minutes prior to the start of the game game?
Effectively, the infraction which drew the technical foul started the game. Once it has begun, substitutions are allowed. Only caveat, whoever is removed has to wait until the clock runs before they're allowed to reenter.

Strictly speaking, this is not correct. It may be a useful simplification though. The correct understanding of this situation is somewhat more complicated.
First, the game begins when the ball first becomes live.
This means that the pregame dunk by A1 did not start the game. The game starts when the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower for the offended team. Allowing B2 to shoot the first technical foul free throw is considered a change in the starting line-up for Team B, not a substitution during the game. It is permissible and not penalized even if it takes place less than 10 minutes prior to the start of the game only because 3-2-2a makes a specific exception for it.

Therefore, to administer this situation precisely, the officials should call the T at the time of the dunk, notify both coaches, the player charged with the T, and the scorer, then after completing the remaining pre-game warm-ups and any introductions, national anthem, etc., they should bring the ten designated starters out onto the floor and ask the coach or captain of Team B who will shoot. If he selects one of the five starters, fine. If he wants to have a non-designated starter shoot, allow it, and simply instruct the scorer to change the starting line-up.
At the time that the ball is given to the free thrower for the first shot, the ten players on the court are considered to have started the game, and all other player moves are considered regular substitutions, subject to normal substitution rules. So both teams can substitute during the dead ball after the first shot or after the second shot subject to player re-entry prohibitions.
Secondly, I believe that the player who was taken out of the starting line-up can enter the game as a substitute after the technical foul free throws are attempted, but before any time has run off the clock, since he actually has never been in the game yet.

For example:
Let's say that B6 was swapped for designated starter B1 and attempted the first shot, then B7 came in for B2 and attempted the second free throw. Before the ball is given to a player of Team B for the division line throw-in (since there will not be a jump ball to start the game) the coach of Team B now wants B1, B2, and B8 to enter. If they all had properly reported to the scorer prior to the dead ball following the second free throw attempt, I say that B1 and B8 can enter since there are no restrictions upon them as neither has yet participated in the game (even though B1 was originally designated as a starter), but B2 must wait until the next opportunity after the clock has properly started, since he started the game and then was replaced.
Also, any substitutions that Team A wishes to make at this time should also be permitted. Then set the initial direction of the AP arrow to Team A's basket when the ball is placed at the disposal of a player from Team B for the division line throw-in opposite the table.

If anyone can find a rule of casebook play which contradicts any of this, please let me know.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Oct 30th, 2003 at 06:36 AM]

ChuckElias Thu Oct 30, 2003 10:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by xxxxxxxfan
does B3 who shot the last technical foul have to start the game
No. The FT shooter who was not originally a member of the starting line-up may sub out of the game before the ensuing throw-in.

Quote:

can the original starting 5 that were marked in the book start?
No. The starter who was subbed out to allow the FT shooter into the game may not be subbed back in to the game until the next opportunity to sub after the clock has properly started.

Quote:

is it correct there will be no jump ball, B will have a throw in from mid court and the possession arrow is set to team A?
Yes, that is all correct. Hope that helps.

Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 30, 2003 10:39am

[QUOTE]Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by xxxxxxxfan

His whole name is Yankees F. Fan, isn't it Chuck?

ChuckElias Thu Oct 30, 2003 10:50am

The reason I didn't post much last week was that I was in Florida. Lots of people rooting for the Marlins, and one of them wore a t-shirt that said "Yuck the Fankees". I thought that was a pretty good sentiment.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1