The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 31, 2022, 11:14am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
I see "normal" in this case as a player coming down without making any non-instictual manipulation.
If you can tell the player thought about it, we've went beyond "normal" landing.

I would be fine with just eliminating the last sentence of 9-9-3 entirely to prevent ambiguity.

Really would be an rare play in any circumstance and if someone does decide to play flamingo with one foot in the FC and then drop the second in the BC, one half of the crowd and coaches would be yelling for the BC and the other half would be holding their breath that you dont call it.

I do not have a problem with my proposed wording for R9-S9-A3, because in my "humble", , opinion it would bring it in alignment with how we adjudicate R4-S44. While not exactly like the IAABO Refresher Exam play, see NFHS CB Play 4.44.3B for a similar situation of indecision by an Offensive Player who is in Control of the Ball.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Mon Oct 31, 2022 at 04:03pm. Reason: Corrected spelling typo.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 01, 2022, 08:34am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,502
Flamingo ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
NFHS CB Play 4.44.3B for a similar situation of indecision by an Offensive Player who is in Control of the Ball.
4.44.3 SITUATION B: A1 receives a pass and establishes the right foot as the pivot. While faking a pass or try, A1 lifts the pivot foot and stands on the left foot alone while undecided as to what to do. Has A1 traveled? RULING: No. Traveling would occur only if A1 begins a dribble or returns the pivot foot to the floor. While in this position A1 may pass, try for goal or request a time-out.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CAn you land but not be finished landing? Pantherdreams Basketball 6 Tue Feb 07, 2017 04:00pm
Referee sticks his landing SCalScoreKeeper Volleyball 0 Sun May 03, 2015 09:42pm
Normal basketball play? Clark Kent Basketball 4 Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:30am
Fouled after landing Vinski Basketball 13 Tue Jan 27, 2009 02:46pm
landing spot ChrisSportsFan Basketball 9 Fri Nov 10, 2006 01:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1