![]() |
|
|
|||
Whole Package ...
Quote:
Quote:
We learned a lot from them about "play calling" and "game management", and I thank them for that, but most of us knew, in the back of our minds, that these guys (and they were all guys back then) had limitations and were about to become relics of past, and that we needed to learn "more" to progress in the modern game. As time passed, the best games, and the tournament games, seemed to be more assigned to officials with the "whole package", or close to it. "Play calling" and "game management" are still very important, but now other things, like rules knowledge, are also valued.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Feb 22, 2022 at 12:01pm. |
|
|||
To me, the rules are clear, and it feels more like a clerical error than anything else. Coach should have known that the pre-game dunk affects his player. So, advise the coach his player is done for the day and move on.
A few weeks ago for me: different situation, but same type of concern with a pissed-off coach. I was working table of my son's junior high game as official scorer, and I had a student next to me running the scoreboard. During the 4th quarter, a technical foul was assessed directly to head coach of the visitors for constantly running his mouth. I recorded it in the book correctly, and had told the student that he needed to add the tech to the team fouls on the board, but he either did not hear me or did not ask for clarification. A minute or so later, down to a minute to go and visitors are down by 3. During dead ball period, coach calls timeout to strategize with the team. Scoreboard shows 5 fouls for his team, so he thinks he has a foul to use without free throws. During the timeout, I compare book to board and tell the student to add a team foul because we're at 6 for them. Ball is put at disposal of home team, who inbounds, and immediate visitor foul. I signal 1-and-1 to the reporting official who looks bewildered, looks up at the scoreboard, and comes over to discuss (because he also thought we were at 5), where I explain that the TF hadn't been recorded on the board as a team foul. He nodded in understanding, signaled the bonus to his partner, and they set up for the FT. Meanwhile, visitor head coach is apoplectic, saying that he thought he had the foul to give and "would have never told [his player] to foul on the inbound had it been reflected correctly" (which we all know is a complete lie, but hey, no harm in trying). He then made some snide comments about table causing him to lose the game. Coach's fault he didn't talk to his own scorekeeper, sitting next to him. Turns out they lost by 1... because the home team made both TF FT's. Last edited by FlasherZ; Sun Feb 20, 2022 at 03:59pm. |
|
|||
Slings And Arrows ...
Quote:
Failing to add technical fouls to the team total, either in the scorebook and/or on the scoreboard, is a very common occurrence in subvarsity games, especially middle school games (and occasionally varsity games). And when notified, officials don't ignore the mistake, we fix it, and shoot free throws. One and one, or no one and one, is impactful, but not quite as impactful as losing a player (who can dunk) for a half, but there are still similarities in these two situations. Not a correctable error, no statute of limitations, so we can fix it (seemingly contrary to it not being a correctable error), even if we have to deal with slings and arrows (and profane language) from a coach. Take it out of context. A4 is penalized for a pregame dunk. Later A4 charged with a technical foul for an unsporting verbal confrontation with an opponent. By rule, where does A4 belong? Answer: A4 belongs (disqualified) on the bench. Yes, there are complicating factors, but the bottom line is that A4, by rule, belongs (disqualified) on the bench.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Feb 20, 2022 at 04:38pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
First quarter: B2 breaks the plane of the end line and fouls thrower A1. Calling official properly rules an intentional personal foul on B1 but misapplies the rule by neglecting to have the scorekeeper record a delay-of-game warning as in 9-2-10. Late in the fourth quarter, B3 breaks the plane of the sideline during a Team A throw-in. Administering official rules a warning for delay on Team B and reports it to the scorer. One of the crew then remembers the IPF from the first quarter and they confer with the scorer who indicates no one reported the delay in the first quarter. = = = If this is handled the same way as a pre-game dunk in the OP, then the second instance of breaking the plane will result in a Team Technical Foul as in 10-2-1c without prior notice to the Team B head coach. I still maintain that if the crew misapplies a rule, there is a point when it becomes too late to penalize. |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I hope it's different where you are, Ray, but I could almost bet that 10 of 10 timers & scorekeepers I've had on my crew wouldn't know anything about assessing a delay warning along with the IPF unless an official specifically said so.
Last edited by Mike Goodwin; Sun Feb 20, 2022 at 08:20pm. Reason: English! |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I’m Late, I’m Late, For A Very Important Date …
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Feb 21, 2022 at 03:15pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Technical foul after foul - Good call or not (Video) | JRutledge | Basketball | 3 | Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:02pm |
NCAA Indirect Technical vs. Bench Technical Foul | Smoothieking | Basketball | 3 | Thu Nov 02, 2017 09:52pm |
Foul In the Post: One Continuous Action or Technical Foul? | APG | Basketball | 10 | Sat Feb 02, 2013 08:24pm |
Shots on Intentional foul/Technical foul | refd | Basketball | 16 | Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:02am |
Common Shooting Foul Followed by a Technical Foul | tophat67 | Basketball | 9 | Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:57am |