The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2022, 12:30pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,373
Timeout Requested, Time Out Granted ???

5-8-3-A: Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, must be stopped when an official: Grants and signals a player’s/head coach’s oral or visual request for a time-out, such request being granted only when: The ball is at the disposal or in control of a player of his/her team.

Must the player control be when the timeout is requested, or when the timeout is granted?

Situation: A loose ball situation occurs and Red #22, while on the floor, is able to get both hands on the ball. Knowing that a held ball is about to occur, Red head coach requests a timeout. Official glances over to insure that it is, indeed, the Red head coach, and then looks back at the players to see that both Red #22 and White #23 have hands in control of the ball in a typical held ball situation. Request was made while only Red #22 had control of the ball. If a timeout was to be granted it would have been granted when both Red #22 and White #23 had hands in control of the ball in a held ball situation.

Ruling?

I would think "granted" goes with player control. In a slightly different situation does an official want to sound a whistle for a timeout when a ball might be bouncing loose on the floor a few feet away from any players? Or during a try? Or during a violation? Or after a ball is out of bounds? "But coach, she had the ball in her control when the timeout was requested".

I believe that the rule language is a little ambiguous (request being granted).

Can we pull just this out of the rule: Granted only when the ball is in control of a player of his/her team (and ignore the word "request")?

Or must we use the word "request" in our ruling?

As we read the rule language, do we "emphasis" the word request, or the word "granted"?

Such REQUEST being granted only when the ball is in control of a player of his/her team.

Such request being GRANTED only when the ball is in control of a player of his/her team.

Because of the juxtaposition of granted and only, I say the player must be in control when the timeout is granted.

This question is based on a recent IAABO make the call video where many say that request is the key parameter.

There hasn't been an "official" IAABO ruling published yet.

I thought that I would start the debate early and head 'em off at the pass.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 09, 2022 at 02:37pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stepping Out of the Box W/O Timeout Granted Spence Baseball 29 Tue Mar 19, 2013 07:36am
To Whom May Timeout Be Granted? Freddy Basketball 13 Wed Dec 29, 2010 07:23pm
Timeout Request Granted . . . When? Freddy Basketball 11 Sat Dec 26, 2009 06:33pm
Timeout granted! "WRONG" MichiganOfficial Basketball 4 Wed Jan 18, 2006 02:23pm
Timeout Granted or not????? jshock Basketball 3 Thu Jan 13, 2000 03:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1