The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 25, 2021, 11:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Would the contact be ruled any differently than we would if B1 was standing on the sideline and A1 ran them over?

Since B1 is not in a legal guarding position, could they be the beneficiary of anything less than an intentional or flagrant foul?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Yes, B1 has the right to occupy any position on the court and cannot be dislodged from there. B1 does not have LGP though, so does not get the extra defensive rights which that conveys, such as the ability to be moving laterally or obliquely at the time of contact. However, if B1 is stationary, then LGP is not necessary and A1 would be called for charging should he run over this defender.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 26, 2021, 03:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Yes, B1 has the right to occupy any position on the court and cannot be dislodged from there. B1 does not have LGP though, so does not get the extra defensive rights which that conveys, such as the ability to be moving laterally or obliquely at the time of contact. However, if B1 is stationary, then LGP is not necessary and A1 would be called for charging should he run over this defender.
Agree.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 26, 2021, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
2004-05 Interps
SITUATION 13: A1 is dribbling near the sideline when B1 obtains legal guarding position. B1 stays in the path of A1 but in doing so has (a) one foot touching the sideline or (b) one foot in the air over the out-of-bounds area when A1 contacts B1 in the torso. RULING: In (a), B1 is called for a blocking foul because a player may not be out of bounds and obtain or maintain legal guarding position. In (b), A1 is called for a player-control foul because B2 had obtained and maintained legal guarding position. (4-23-2; 4-23-3a)

(a similar interp was given in 2003-04)

Last edited by bob jenkins; Sun Dec 26, 2021 at 08:25am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 26, 2021, 10:01am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Always Listen To bob ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
2004-05 Interps SITUATION 13: A1 is dribbling near the sideline when B1 obtains legal guarding position. B1 stays in the path of A1 but in doing so has (a) one foot touching the sideline ... RULING: In (a), B1 is called for a blocking foul because a player may not be out of bounds and obtain or maintain legal guarding position.
Wow! Great research. An interpretation that "disappeared" almost a dozen and a half years ago. Fooled Nevadaref (the "Interpretation King"), Camron Rust, and later me, after reading their posts. Impressive. Thanks.

4-23-1: Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent.

I do recall videos of late game set plays where inbounders run the end line and defenders run over screeners where the screeners have a foot on the endline, and are called for blocking fouls, even though stationary and facing the opponent. Of course, since the rule changed and we no longer shoot team control fouls, we will seldom see this late game set play anymore, and that's a good thing.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 26, 2021 at 11:49am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 26, 2021, 12:57pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Twice As Nice ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
... a similar interp was given in 2003-04 ...
SITUATION 7: B1 obtains a legal guarding position on A1, who is dribbling the ball near the sideline. There is no contact by A1 while B1 has both feet on the playing court. B1 stays in the path of A1 but in doing so has (a) one foot touching the out-of-bounds boundary line, or (b) one foot in the air over the out-of-bounds boundary line when A1 contacts B1 in the torso. RULING: In (a), a blocking foul shall be called on B1. B1 may not be touching out of bounds. In (b), a player-control foul shall be called on A1; B1 had established and maintained a legal guarding position. (4-23-2,3; 4-35-1)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 26, 2021, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Rule 1

The definition of the "playing court" is found in the very first rule in the book.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stepping up OKREF Basketball 21 Sun Feb 10, 2013 06:00pm
Stepping down at C Ch1town Basketball 16 Sat Aug 16, 2008 07:05pm
Stepping Off bossman72 Baseball 6 Thu Jun 23, 2005 09:45pm
stepping out of box rezdog Softball 13 Thu Jul 25, 2002 12:22pm
PLayer stepping OB Thom Basketball 5 Tue Dec 21, 1999 09:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1