The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2020, 05:59pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,409
No Player Control ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Didn't FED change the rule (about 10 years ago) where A1 catches the jump ball so it's not simultaneously "control" and a violation? (so B gets the ball A gets the arrow). I'd use both of those as precedent.
4-12-1: There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a
jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper,
or during an interrupted dribble.


So an illegal possession isn't a possession?

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Nov 12, 2020 at 06:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2020, 06:10pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,409
Illegal Kick ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So an illegal possession isn't a possession?
Like an illegal kick by a defender on a run the endline throwin, or on a throwin for an alternating possession, isn't a "touch" to end the throwin?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2020, 06:24pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,409
Jump Ball Illegal Catch ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Didn't FED change the rule (about 10 years ago) where A1 catches the jump ball so it's not simultaneously "control" and a violation? (so B gets the ball A gets the arrow).
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
4-12-1: There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a
jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper,
or during an interrupted dribble.
6.4.1 SITUATION C: Following the jump between A1 and B1 to start the first quarter, the jump ball: (d) is caught by A1. RULING: In (d), Team B will have a throw-in because of the violation and the arrow for the alternating-possession will be pointed towards Team A’s basket. (4-12-1; 4-28-1)

No more lose the ball and lose the arrow like in the good old days.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2020, 05:43pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
There is team control out of bounds?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2020, 05:55pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,409
Only ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
There is team control out of bounds?
Only on a throwin?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 13, 2020, 10:37am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,409
Thanks ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
IAABO Refresher Exam ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
IAABO Refresher Exam mechanics questions
Thanks for the help, convincing me to keep one of my answers (run the endline privilege after kick).

I submitted my exam and got 98/100 (100 combined rules and mechanics questions), my best score in years, maybe ever, probably because I've had nothing else to do in my secret underground COVID bomb shelter other than research and double check all 100 exam questions.

I won't find out which two questions I missed for a few weeks. If they are of any interest, I'll share them with you when I know (I probably just misread something, which would be of no interest to all of you).

I bet one of the missed questions was the disallowing a goal due to basket interference from the reporting area question, that I said was correct.

I probably should have listened to SC Official.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Nov 14, 2020 at 06:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 21, 2020, 06:56pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,409
Fun With A Delay Of Game ...

This was one of the toughest questions on the Refresher Exam based on the number of incorrect answers:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...it?usp=sharing

While the answer (the official was incorrect) was correct, the interpretation/citation was incorrect.

Who wants to play?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 21, 2020, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
This was one of the toughest questions on the Refresher Exam based on the number of incorrect answers:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...it?usp=sharing

While the answer (the official was incorrect) was correct, the interpretation/citation was incorrect.

Who wants to play?
The citation looks fine to me. It tells you that this action is a technical foul for delay of game, unless the ROP procedure is in effect, which it would be following a time-out or intermission.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2020, 10:12am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,409
Two Wrongs Don't Make A Right ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The citation looks fine to me. It tells you that this action is a technical foul for delay of game, unless the ROP procedure is in effect, which it would be following a time-out or intermission.
Maybe I didn't word my question correctly. You failed to read the bottom line, stating that the official should have given a "delay of game warning" instead of placing "the ball on the free throw line" in this situation, which is also incorrect.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 22, 2020 at 01:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2020, 10:14am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,409
Citations ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
This was one of the toughest questions on the Refresher Exam based on the number of incorrect answers:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...it?usp=sharing

While the answer (the official was incorrect) was correct, the interpretation/citation was incorrect.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Maybe I didn't word my question correctly. You failed to read the bottom line, stating that the official should have given a "delay of game warning" instead of placing "the ball on the free throw line" in this situation, which is also incorrect.
10.4.5 SITUATION: The ruling official has reported the foul and has given directions to players along the lane. The official is ready to put the ball at free thrower A1’s disposal, but A1 is at the sideline talking to the coach. RULING: A technical foul for delay is charged to A1. No warning is authorized in this situation. (10-3-5c)

10-4-5-C: Player Technical Foul: A player shall not: Delay the game by acts such as: The free thrower fails to be in the free-throw semicircle when the official is ready to administer the free throw unless the resumption-of-play procedure is in effect following a time-out or intermission.

4-47: A warning to a team for delay is an administrative procedure by an official which is recorded in the scorebook by the scorer and reported to the head coach:
ART. 1 For throw-in plane violations, as in 9-2-10, 10-2-1c.
ART. 2 For huddle by either team and contact with the free thrower, as in 10-2-1d.
ART. 3 For interfering with the ball following a goal as in 10-2-1e.
ART. 4 For failure to have the court ready for play following any timeout as in 10-2-1f.

10-2-1: Team Technical Foul: A team shall not: Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts:
b. Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific situations.
c. Commit a violation of the throw-in boundary-line plane, as in 9-2-10, after any team warning for delay.
d. Contact with the free thrower or a huddle of two or more players in the lane by either team prior to a free throw following any team warning for delay.
e. Interfering with the ball following a goal after any team warning for delay.
f. Not having the court ready for play following any time-out after any team warning for delay.

8-1-2: Following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play procedure may be used to prevent delay. The administering official will sound the whistle to indicate play will resume. The ball must be placed at the disposal of the thrower or placed on the floor at the free-throw line and the count must begin. Either or both teams may be charged with a violation. Following a violation by one or both teams, if the offending team(s) continues to delay, a team technical foul must be ruled.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2020, 11:21am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,409
Five Most Missed Questions ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
This was one of the toughest questions on the Refresher Exam based on the number of incorrect answers.
For the good of the cause, here are three more of the five most missed questions (the fifth was an IAABO mechanics question) on my local board:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...it?usp=sharing
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 01, 2020, 11:28am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,409
Backcourt ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
IAABO Refresher Exam...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I won't find out which two questions I missed for a few weeks. If they are of any interest, I'll share them with you when I know ...
Got this one wrong. I got cocky, read it too quickly, and confused this situation with one of the backcourt exceptions.

61. A-l is dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the division line when B-1 bats the ball into the air. A-l jumps from his frontcourt and catches the ball while in the air. A-1 then lands in the backcourt. The official rules
a legal play. Is the official correct?
61. No 4-12-3, 4-35-3, 4-4-2, 9-9-1


The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

My second incorrect answer was an IAABO mechanics question.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Dec 01, 2020 at 12:53pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't we be friends? Rob_K Basketball 12 Sat Dec 08, 2012 09:51am
For our friends in MA Nevadaref Basketball 1 Tue Aug 18, 2009 08:22am
Hello to all my Ump Friends! Elaine "Lady Blue" Softball 11 Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:18pm
Hello to all my friends mtoombs Baseball 1 Thu Aug 24, 2000 05:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1