The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Dec 07, 2012, 06:33pm
Official Forum Member

What do officials expect from coaches?

I'm a 9 year head coach, brand new to the officiating forums. I've been in the AAU ranks now for the past 3 years, currently coaching a 14U team. I've already gleaned a ton of info by checking out the forums for a few months now, figured I should join and ask some questions.

I'm pretty laid back, never been T'd or throw out of a game. Probably coached close to 400 games at this point. I understand the 14U skill level can vary, so you have a bunch of kids who are still trying to learn the game. I'm sure that adds to the degree of difficulty for the officials.

On to the questions:

1) I'm sure there's at least one coach you enjoy officiating their games. What is it about that coach that makes it enjoyable?

2) Will what I ask/say change your calls in a game?

3) What's the best way to piss you guys off and have you ignore me (obviously looking for what not to do)?

Appreciate the input!

Rob K

Last edited by Rob_K; Wed Jun 26, 2013 at 03:58pm.
Old Fri Dec 07, 2012, 06:44pm
We don't rent pigs

It's not what you say, it's how you say it. Body language means a lot. You can say a lot with your palms open, but don't point your finger at me, and don't shake your fist or punch the air to punctuate your comments. You can speak calmly about what you see.

"He's living in the lane." "He's riding my guy all the way down the floor."

If you don't stick up for your team, nobody will.

Bottom line: Don't talk to me like I work for you, because I don't.

Lonesome Dove
Old Fri Dec 07, 2012, 07:28pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob_K View Post
On to the questions:

1) I'm sure there's at least one coach you enjoy officiating their games. What is it about that coach that makes it enjoyable?