![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Here is why the above is not true. The two players involved in this play W1 and B1 are moving in PARALLEL paths in the same direction. They are like two cars driving side-by-side in two lanes of a freeway. This action does NOT constitute screening according the the NFHS rules as MTD claims. NFHS rule 4-40-2c is "The screener must be stationary, except when both the screener and the opponent are moving in the same path and same direction." So per NFHS rules there are ONLY TWO types of legal screens: one in which the screener is stationary and the other in which both the screener and his opponent are moving in the SAME path and SAME direction. Moving in the same path and same direction means that the players would be like two cars traveling along the freeway in the SAME lane with one in front of the other. We can determine that this is true and what the NFHS intends with the use of the word "same" by examining NFHS rule 4-40-6 "...When screening an opponent who is moving in the same path and direction as the screener, the player behind is responsible if contact is made because the player in front slows up or stops and the player behind overruns his/her opponent." This rule tells us that the players are moving with one in front of the other, not side-by-side in parallel paths. That is the necessary movement and configuration (same path and same direction) for a legal moving screen. MTD's parallel paths scenario does not qualify. Therefore, B1 and W1 are NOT simultaneously setting moving screens on each other as they run down the court in parallel paths as MTD claims and this situation cannot be ajudicated according the the screening rules. As W1 changes his path and heads toward the basket the two paths are no longer parallel and they begin to converge. The point at which they will converge is where the contact will occur. As an official we can observe this and deduce what is about to happen. What an official must use to determine the proper ruling of the impending contact is the guarding rules detailed in 4-23. As the two paths converge B1 will either obtain initial LGP before the time of contact (reaching the point of convergence) or not. The official must ajudge this and then use that information to rule on the contact. That is the determining factor for two players moving in different paths (but possibly the same direction or very nearly the same direction). |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
MSU/AZ Block/Charge Play | Freddy | Basketball | 17 | Wed Nov 16, 2016 01:45pm |
Block/Charge Play | stiffler3492 | Basketball | 38 | Thu Dec 13, 2012 09:05am |
Block/Charge: RA Play | APG | Basketball | 21 | Mon May 07, 2012 03:02pm |
Charge and a block on the same play | Coach Bill | Basketball | 33 | Thu Jan 24, 2008 04:16pm |
Screening vs Guarding | rainmaker | Basketball | 62 | Tue Jun 01, 2004 09:34pm |