The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 12, 2020, 07:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
Today's Referee.com case play: BI on a TI, 2 points awarded.

On a TI, A1 throws the ball, which bounces off the rim, and while the ball is in the cylinder above the basket, B1 touches the ball and knocks it away. Ruling: BI and 2 points, because BI does not require a try or tap.

Goaltending does require a try or tap, so if B1 touches the ball before it hits the rim, it's not goaltending because the throw is not a try or a tap.

BI on a throw that, if it went in, would be a violation by the throwing team? If I had this happen in a game, I would have gotten it wrong.

Query: If BI occurs on a TI from beyond the 3-point line, do you award 3 points? Or is this throw considered not "from the field by a player behind" his/her arc?
OOB is not behind the 3-point line. It is OOB.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1