The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Illegal Dribble Scenarios (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105008-illegal-dribble-scenarios.html)

BillyMac Sun Mar 01, 2020 10:46am

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1037961)
... NFHS case 4.15.4 Sit E.

4.15.4 SITUATION E: While A1 is dribbling in A’s backcourt, the ball legally touches B1’s leg, causing it to bounce away from A1. A1 quickly recovers the ball with two hands and then starts another dribble. RULING: Legal. The touch by B1 ended the original dribble and A1 could then recover and dribble again. However, the touch by B1 did not end team control and the 10-second backcourt count continues. (9-5-2)

9-5-2: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: A touch by an opponent.

bob jenkins Sun Mar 01, 2020 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1037969)

9-5-2: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: A touch by an opponent.

9-3 ... a pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched, by another player

So, it comes down to whether an interrupted dribble and a fumble are (or should be) treated the same in these situations. The definitions are nearly identical.

BillyMac Sun Mar 01, 2020 11:48am

Grasp ... ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1037970)
9-3 ... a pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched, by another player

So, it comes down to whether an interrupted dribble and a fumble are (or should be) treated the same in these situations. The definitions are nearly identical.

4-21: A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball
unintentionally drops or slips from a player’s grasp.

4-15-5: An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after
deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the
dribbler. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble.


A fumble involves a "player's grasp", an interrupted dribble doesn't.

I don't see any "grasp" in this situation (the dribbled ball ball deflects off his shoe), until the very end, which is irrelevant.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1037936)
A1 loses control of the ball as a result his own ineptitude (ball deflects off his shoe) which results in an interrupted dribble. Ball legally touches opponent B2's leg. A1 picks up (catches) the loose ball after it touches B2? Can A1 legally start a new dribble?

I believe that Raymond hit the ball out of the park:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1037944)
That's probably how most of us have officiated it, but it's not what the rule book says.


bucky Sun Mar 01, 2020 03:15pm

Yea, all that makes sense. Now, what if someone holding the ball fumbles it as they begin their initial dribble? Is that to be considered a fumble, as the ball came from the player's grasp, or is it considered to be an interrupted dribble, as the ball got away from the player while attempting to dribble?

Is there anything anywhere that defines or recognizes an interrupted dribble as only being part of action whereby someone has already dribbled at least once? It probably does not matter as it comes down to how you judge the action.

A dribble is an intentional act while a fumble is an unintentional act. If a player begins an initial dribble (intentional act) and it becomes an interrupted dribble that hits a teammate, then they can recover, but not dribble again. If a player, who has not dribbled yet, fumbles (unintentional act) the ball and it hits a teammate, then they can recover and dribble. Agree?


I hope I never have this play happen:

A1 inbounds the ball to A2 in Team A's BC under heavy, full court pressure. A2 attempts a high, cross-court pass that hits Team B's backboard. The ball rebounds and deflects off A1 (who had stepped inbounds), A3, A4, and A5, before being controlled by A2. A2 dribbles and is called for illegal dribble. Doesn't seem right does it?;);)

BillyMac Sun Mar 01, 2020 04:08pm

Fumble ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1037976)
... someone holding the ball fumbles it as they begin their initial dribble? Is that to be considered a fumble, as the ball came from the player's grasp ...?

Yes, assuming that at one point that he had it in his grasp (players can start dribbles in other ways).

4-21: A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball
unintentionally drops or slips from a player’s grasp.

BillyMac Sun Mar 01, 2020 04:19pm

Part Of A Dribble ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bucky (Post 1037976)
A1 inbounds the ball to A2 in Team A's BC under heavy, full court pressure. A2 attempts a high, cross-court pass that hits Team B's backboard. The ball rebounds and deflects off A1 (who had stepped inbounds), A3, A4, and A5, before being controlled by A2. A2 dribbles and is called for illegal dribble.

A2 throwing the ball and hitting Team B's backboard is considered to be part of a dribble.

In a real game, and with A2's "passed" ball hitting Team B's backboard (that alone would be surprising), and then the ball ricocheting off of several players, I would have probably forgotten that A2 had already dribbled once.

Basketball Rules Fundamentals
19. A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated
the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches
the thrower’s backboard, it does not constitute a part of a dribble.

bucky Sun Mar 01, 2020 04:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1037978)
I would have probably forgotten that A2 had already dribbled once.

Not after this thread.;)

RefBob Mon Mar 02, 2020 12:10pm

Wow, thanks all. Very helpful and educational.

BillyMac Mon Mar 02, 2020 12:35pm

No, Thank You ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RefBob (Post 1037984)
Wow, thanks all. Very helpful and educational.

Hey, it was your thread RefBob.

And it was Raymond who put the game away by hitting a home run.

eltonsi Mon Mar 02, 2020 06:12pm

A little off topic, but would like a confirmation. If A1 has ended dribble with both hands. Throws ball at opponents foot intentionally and recovers the ball after contact on B2. Can A1 still dribble? Does that qualify as a pass that was in contact with an opponent?

Raymond Mon Mar 02, 2020 07:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eltonsi (Post 1037991)
A little off topic, but would like a confirmation. If A1 has ended dribble with both hands. Throws ball at opponents foot intentionally and recovers the ball after contact on B2. Can A1 still dribble? Does that qualify as a pass that was in contact with an opponent?

Yes. 9-5-3

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

eltonsi Tue Mar 03, 2020 08:16am

Found this:

24-7

Example: A1 ends his dribble and deliberately throws the ball on B1 leg. A1 catches the ball and begins to dribble again.

Interpretation: A1 double dribble violation. A1 dribble has ended as the ball was not touched by B1. It was the ball which has touched B1.

Raymond Tue Mar 03, 2020 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eltonsi (Post 1037998)
Found this:

24-7

Example: A1 ends his dribble and deliberately throws the ball on B1 leg. A1 catches the ball and begins to dribble again.

Interpretation: A1 double dribble violation. A1 dribble has ended as the ball was not touched by B1. It was the ball which has touched B1.

What or where is your reference from?

Rule 9-5-3 directly contradicts what you just posted. Billy posted 9-5-3 above. The case book also directly contradicts what you posted.


9.5.3 SITUATION:

A1 is dribbling in backcourt and ends the dribble, but defensive pressure prevents a pass to A2. A1 then passes the ball so it touches B1. A1 recovers the loose ball in backcourt and dribbles again.

RULING: No violation. When A1's pass was touched by, or touched, another player, he/she may start a new dribble. The 10-second backcourt count continues.

bob jenkins Tue Mar 03, 2020 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by eltonsi (Post 1037998)
Found this:

24-7

Example: A1 ends his dribble and deliberately throws the ball on B1 leg. A1 catches the ball and begins to dribble again.

Interpretation: A1 double dribble violation. A1 dribble has ended as the ball was not touched by B1. It was the ball which has touched B1.

That must be a FIBA interp.

Does FIBA allow this type of play on a throw-in? It would seem to me that the interp should be the same (or follow the same logic).

BillyMac Tue Mar 03, 2020 12:52pm

Just When We Thought We Had It All Figured Out ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eltonsi (Post 1037998)
24-7 Example: A1 ends his dribble and deliberately throws the ball on B1 leg. A1 catches the ball and begins to dribble again. Interpretation: A1 double dribble violation. A1 dribble has ended as the ball was not touched by B1. It was the ball which has touched B1.

https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.e...=0&w=326&h=184


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1