The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2019, 11:35am
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 643
illegal dribble

Apologies if this has been cover 5,000 times on here

If A1 loses control of her dribble and the ball bounces off her leg, A1 is prohibited from resuming her dribble?

Same deal except lost dribble bounces off B1, A1 can resume her dribble?

Is this same play that was missed in Men's National Final last year?

Thanks and Happy New Year!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2019, 11:49am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,855
Interrupted Dribble ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
If A1 loses control of her dribble and the ball bounces off her leg, A1 is prohibited from resuming her dribble?
"Loses control" implies to me that A1 has not picked up the dribble, in other words, A1 has not held the ball, or touched it simultaneously with two hands (thus ending her dribble), and if that's the case, A1 can continue (or resume) dribbling (because the dribble never ended).

4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or -
dribbling a live ball. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a
jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper,
or during an interrupted dribble.

4-15-5: An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after -
deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the
dribbler. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble.

4.15.4 SITUATION D: While dribbling: (b) the ball bounces away but A1 is able to get to it and continues to dribble; (c) the ball hits A1’s foot and bounces away but A1 is able to overtake and pick it up; or (d) A1 fumbles the ball in ending the dribble so that A1 must run to recover it. RULING: In (b), even though the dribble was interrupted it has not ended and A1 may continue the dribble. In (c), the dribble ended when A1 caught the ball; and it ended in (d) when it was fumbled. Even though the dribble has ended in (c) and (d), A1 may recover the ball but may not dribble again. (9-5)


Different situation, but if A1 had already ended her dribble (by holding the ball, or touching it simultaneously with two hands), she may always legally pick up a fumble, but may not start a new dribble.

4-15-4: . The dribble ends when:
a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or
both hands.
b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in
one or both hands.
c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.
d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the
dribbler to lose control.
e. The ball becomes dead.


Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Same deal except lost dribble bounces off B1, A1 can resume her dribble?
Same answer (original post), but in the different case of A1 ending her dribble, also legal (can start a new dribble)

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has
ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 29, 2019 at 12:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2019, 12:40pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,855
Interrupted Dribble Do's And Don'ts ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
If A1 loses control of her dribble and the ball bounces off her leg ...
Regarding interrupted dribbles, a Forum member recently sent me a copy of the 2019-20 IAABO "Cadet" Rules Exam (IAABO veterans here in Connecticut only get Refresher Exams), and I took it closed book for fun.

Got this one wrong:

22. During A-1’s interrupted dribble, A-1 fouls B-1. Official rules a player control foul. Is the official correct? No.

4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or -
dribbling a live ball. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a
jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper,
or during an An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after -
deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the
dribbler. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble.

4-15-5: An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after -
deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the
dribbler. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble.

4-15-6 During an interrupted dribble:
a. A closely guarded count shall not be started or shall be terminated.
b. A player-control foul cannot be committed, but a team-control foul
still may be committed.
c. A time-out request shall not be granted.
d. Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in
the interrupted dribble.


Stupid interrupted dribble. Some things apply (team control, three seconds, team control foul) and some things don’t (player control foul, closely guarded, out of bounds, timeout granted).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 29, 2019 at 03:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2019, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Apologies if this has been cover 5,000 times on here

If A1 loses control of her dribble and the ball bounces off her leg, A1 is prohibited from resuming her dribble?

Same deal except lost dribble bounces off B1, A1 can resume her dribble?

Is this same play that was missed in Men's National Final last year?

Thanks and Happy New Year!
No. Yes. I dont know..cant remember that long ago.,
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 29, 2019, 03:51pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
This?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
...long ago
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call

Last edited by Freddy; Sun Dec 29, 2019 at 04:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 30, 2019, 01:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Apologies if this has been cover 5,000 times on here

If A1 loses control of her dribble and the ball bounces off her leg, A1 is prohibited from resuming her dribble?

Same deal except lost dribble bounces off B1, A1 can resume her dribble?

Is this same play that was missed in Men's National Final last year?

Thanks and Happy New Year!
A player may always continue an interrupted dribble, but may not end it and then start a new one. Unfortunately, that is what happened in the NC game last season.
Once the ball contacts another player, the dribbler is granted the right to begin another dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 30, 2019, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Thank you Freddy. I remember it now...🙃😞.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal dribble or not? The R Basketball 2 Mon Dec 02, 2013 06:35pm
Illegal dribble or not..?? rpirtle Basketball 20 Sun Jan 06, 2013 04:48pm
Illegal dribble rbruno Basketball 13 Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:52pm
illegal dribble just another ref Basketball 4 Sat Feb 23, 2008 07:16am
Illegal Dribble huskyz Basketball 20 Fri Nov 28, 2003 01:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1