The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 12:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,517
Video request: Duke v SFA final play of OT

Could we please get the final ten seconds of the Duke v SFA OT posted for review?

I just saw the highlight on SportsCenter and have a couple of questions about the sequence.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 01:33am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,952
What are you looking for?

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 01:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,517
Start with the Duke player dribbling into the FT lane and losing the ball.

At that point my questions arise:
1. Foul or good hustle by the SFA player diving onto the floor around the Duke player’s legs?
2. Travel by the SFA player on the floor who obtained possession while prone and then turned to his back and sat up prior to passing? Do the NFHS and NCAA traveling interps differ on this action?
3. Foul by the Duke player in the backcourt as the SFA player with the ball starts to break for the other end?
4. Possible GT or BI on the winning lay-up? (I believe that the Duke player missed the ball.)

Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Nov 27, 2019 at 03:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 05:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 56
Illegal dribble

Vide is here: https://streamable.com/wzjbf

On the transition and game winning basket it looked to me like the SFA player had control as he split the defenders while dribbling, made it through, then picked the ball up with both hands again, then dribbled, which is an illegal or double dribble.

I'm interested in other opinions on this.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 06:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by nolanjj68 View Post
Vide is here: https://streamable.com/wzjbf

On the transition and game winning basket it looked to me like the SFA player had control as he split the defenders while dribbling, made it through, then picked the ball up with both hands again, then dribbled, which is an illegal or double dribble.

I'm interested in other opinions on this.
Not a hoops ref, I work baseball, but my first viewing of the play last night gave me a “that doesn’t look quite right” feeling. Couple replays and I still had it.

Don’t know applications and interpretations but it doesn’t look right to me.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 07:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by nolanjj68 View Post
Vide is here: https://streamable.com/wzjbf

On the transition and game winning basket it looked to me like the SFA player had control as he split the defenders while dribbling, made it through, then picked the ball up with both hands again, then dribbled, which is an illegal or double dribble.

I'm interested in other opinions on this.
This action happens with my point #3. There may have been a foul which caused the awkward (perhaps illegal) dribble. I couldn’t tell on ESPN because there is a score ticker across the bottom of the screen which blocks some of my view.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 07:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 56
Yup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
This action happens with my point #3. There may have been a foul which caused the awkward (perhaps illegal) dribble. I couldn’t tell on ESPN because there is a score ticker across the bottom of the screen which blocks some of my view.
Yes I agree the angle is not great. Perhaps the ball also touched a defender. Perhaps he was fouled. It would be nice to get an angle from the end line.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,581
Not even close to an illegal dribble on the fastbreak.

A dribble is a controlled action. The first bounce before both hands touch the ball is not controlled.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 09:13am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,427
I have a travel by the player on the floor who rolls completely over after gaining possession. I do not have an illegal dribble as the player muffed the passed, then hit the ball, then gained possession, then started his dribble.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
Not even close to an illegal dribble on the fastbreak.

A dribble is a controlled action. The first bounce before both hands touch the ball is not controlled.
Of course it's close. That's why it's being debated. Sheesh this place.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
I have a travel by the player on the floor who rolls completely over after gaining possession. I do not have an illegal dribble as the player muffed the passed, then hit the ball, then gained possession, then started his dribble.
Good catch I missed that. A clear travel on the roll over.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 20
Travel or jump-stop?

Travel by Stanley on the 3-pointer towards the end of regulation?

https://www.cbssports.com/college-ba...-against-duke/

Not the best page for the review, but the video at the top of the story shows the key plays. Go to the 28 second mark. Player receives ball with both feet on the court. Shifts both feet to take the shot. There's a slow motion replay afterwards.

Does that count as a jump stop?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by dabard View Post
Player receives ball with both feet on the court. Shifts both feet to take the shot.
Does that count as a jump stop?
I didn't watch the video, but two-to-two can never qualify as a jump stop.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2019, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 56
Another travel

I watched it and he caught the ball, jumped both feet off the ground while rotating for the shot, landed, then shot. A clear travel right in front of the official.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duke v UNC video request Nevadaref Basketball 4 Mon Mar 18, 2019 03:54pm
Video Request UNC vs Duke Big_Blue_Wannabe Basketball 6 Sat Mar 10, 2018 07:54pm
Video Request - ND vs Duke WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 2 Thu Mar 10, 2016 10:12pm
UVa-Duke video request RedAndWhiteRef Basketball 16 Mon Feb 15, 2016 03:47pm
Video request: Michigan/Duke-OOB, scuffle, technical, resumption of play (Clip Added) fiasco Basketball 18 Fri Dec 06, 2013 12:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1