The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 25, 2019, 11:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 109
OOB play

Where is it in the rule book about a player can't be the first to touch the ball if he was the last to touch the ball after returning from OOB's?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2019, 12:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,795
It isn’t there in NFHS..If your momentum carries you out of bounds you can be the first to touch it if you get back inbounds. (one foot inbounds and other in air is enough)
If player goes OB on purpose..say to avoid another player, the violation is for leaving for unauthorized reason.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2019, 12:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 782
bbman, that is the rule for NCAA Men's play, because at that level the violation is defined as being first to touch the ball after having gone out of bounds. In NFHS rules, one can return from out of bounds legally and touch the ball, because the violation is going out of bounds for an unauthorized reason.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2019, 12:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
Where is it in the rule book about a player can't be the first to touch the ball if he was the last to touch the ball after returning from OOB's?
Thanks
NFHS Case Book 7.1.1 Sit B tells you that this action is legal.

A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the floor inbounds, but A1, who is off balance, steps off the court. A1 returns inbounds, secures control of the ball and dribbles.

RULING: Legal. A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and momentum carries A1 off the court. If the try is unsuccessful, A1 may come back onto the court and regain control since A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did. (4-15-3, 4-15-4)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2019, 01:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
bbman, that is the rule for NCAA Men's play, because at that level the violation is defined as being first to touch the ball after having gone out of bounds. In NFHS rules, one can return from out of bounds legally and touch the ball, because the violation is going out of bounds for an unauthorized reason.
That isn't the college rule.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2019, 07:16am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
Where is it in the rule book about a player can't be the first to touch the ball if he was the last to touch the ball after returning from OOB's?
Thanks
No such rule. This is not football.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2019, 07:22am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
bbman, that is the rule for NCAA Men's play, because at that level the violation is defined as being first to touch the ball after having gone out of bounds. In NFHS rules, one can return from out of bounds legally and touch the ball, because the violation is going out of bounds for an unauthorized reason.
That is not exactly the NCAA Rule. The NCAA Rule puts a restriction of a player going out of bounds on their own volition touching the ball first. But simply going out of bounds and coming back is not a violation. So if a player saves the ball and then comes back to recover the ball, that is totally legal. Usually, this is about purposely going out of bounds to then make a play on the ball, that could be a violation. That is not what was asked in this situation BTW.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2019, 09:03am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
bbman, that is the rule for NCAA Men's play, because at that level the violation is defined as being first to touch the ball after having gone out of bounds. In NFHS rules, one can return from out of bounds legally and touch the ball, because the violation is going out of bounds for an unauthorized reason.
What NCAA-Men's rule are you referring to?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2019, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,224
I assume he means this:

Rule 9, Section 3. Player Out of Bounds
Art. 1. A player who steps out of bounds under his own volition and then
becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court
has committed a violation.

Which is not applicable to the way I read the OP. (NCAAW has the same rule)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2019, 10:05am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I assume he means this:

Rule 9, Section 3. Player Out of Bounds
Art. 1. A player who steps out of bounds under his own volition and then
becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court
has committed a violation.

Which is not applicable to the way I read the OP. (NCAAW has the same rule)
Yeah, our young poster left out 4 important words in his response. And it is definitely not the play we are discussing here.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2019, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 782
bbman was referring to a rule that penalized a player for touching the ball after returning from out of bounds. Such a rule does not exist in NFHS, because the action of going out of bounds for an unauthorized reason is by itself illegal in NFHS rules. I added that such a rule does exist in NCAA Men's basketball, with the caveat that the player who goes out of bounds has to go out of bounds intentionally.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2019, 12:18pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
bbman was referring to a rule that penalized a player for touching the ball after returning from out of bounds. Such a rule does not exist in NFHS, because the action of going out of bounds for an unauthorized reason is by itself illegal in NFHS rules. I added that such a rule does exist in NCAA Men's basketball, with the caveat that the player who goes out of bounds has to go out of bounds intentionally.
Well, he did not ask about that. He was asking was it illegal to be the first to go out of bounds and then be the first to touch or play the ball. That is not the NCAA rule either. Stay focused on what was asked if you are going to invoke another level that was not asked about.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2019, 02:18pm
I got a Basketball Jones!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hunger
Posts: 915
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Well, he did not ask about that. He was asking was it illegal to be the first to go out of bounds and then be the first to touch or play the ball. That is not the NCAA rule either. Stay focused on what was asked if you are going to invoke another level that was not asked about.

Peace
He likes to show off his expansive rules knowledge

Don't believe me?

Ask him about Filipino Professional Midget Basketball Association rules changes enacted in 2007...
__________________
Lah me..
(In honor of Jurassic Ref, R.I.P.)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 26, 2019, 03:55pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,261
The "M" Word ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
Ask him about Filipino Professional Midget Basketball Association rules changes enacted in 2007.
Dwarfs, little people, people of short stature, but not the "M" word.

Just saying.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holding play during a pass play for a first down Shooter Football 4 Sat Sep 21, 2019 09:11am
Play by PLay of All Calls to Close games. . . Pantherdreams Basketball 16 Sat Mar 07, 2015 12:56pm
What states play/don't play middle school football Texas Aggie Football 16 Sun Jun 22, 2014 01:02pm
Public Address announcer/ Play by play Terrapins Fan Basketball 34 Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm
Force play or time play? Rita C Baseball 44 Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1