![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Yes, this miss will probably cost all of them an advancement. First, it should have been an F1, not a T, with the thrower shooting. But even if you go with the T, thinking the ball was hit instead of the arm, it was administered incorrectly. And I would not put this on the player. This is probably the first time in their playing careers that this has happened. They shouldn't be expected to know who is supposed to shoot on this. It is entirely possible that they thought it was a T and sent their best player to shoot what they thought was a T. Quote:
The NCAA list is missing some data.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Mar 31, 2019 at 03:27am. |
|
|||
|
I saw the aftermath in the studio and the rules analyst Gene said to the rest of the panel, mostly former college/NBA players, that after the block and coming down out of bounds, that player would need to get BOTH feet back in bounds before he could again touch the ball. Everyone agreed. But that isn't the rule, right? He just needs to get one foot back in, or any part of his body for that matter (knee, elbow?), as long as no part of the rest of his body was still out of bounds.
Right??? It seems like this is a rule that MANY in the game misunderstood, that you need to get both feet back in, not just one. I just want to make sure I'm not missing anything new, thanks, I would also agree with the person above that pointed out that Higgins would have been looking high, watching for arm then body contact, seeing the shooter to the ground, and the immediate switch to the need to see where the blocker landed is a tough transition in the mind. At the point he even realizes what the defender may be able to accomplish, that defender is airborne and it's too late. And lead may very well not be looking out there, instead watching for activity underneath. just a tough circumstance. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Gene wasn't exactly setting the world on fire with his observational skills or rules knowledge, at least for this game. |
|
|||
|
JRut, any way when you clip the Flagrant 1 for contact with the inbounder, you can also separately clip like a minute later (after the table review or crew discussion … I forget which it was), just for the audio of what the official says to the broadcast crew?
All one clip would probably be too long due to the delay for the review/discussion, but would definitely be instructive. Thanks! |
|
|||
|
So many people perpetuating this "technical" myth:
Zags' Perkins rues 'bonehead' tech late in loss That's not what happened, that's not what they called (other than the initial T signal, which I don't blame Higgins for … he had the whistle, which is most important), and that's not how it was administered, even if it was still done incorrectly. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It does have Moretti as #2 on the season at .933, I transcribed it incorrectly in my first post. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
My point was that https://www.ncaa.com/stats/basketbal...individual/142, which supposedly include all games for all teams is incorrect.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
dewed if you read any of the other posts it's not a dead ball T unless he hits the ball. He hit the arm which in NFHS is an intentional foul 2 shots and the ball at POI. In NCAA it should've been ruled a common foul for making contact with the thrower then upgraded to a Flagrant 1. Which means Mooney would've been the one shooting. But even if the deemed it to be a tech it's a class B T which is 1 shot and the ball and whomever they choose. So either way they administered this wrong.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Actually I'm not sure. F1 personal contact foul include contact with player making the throw in, but Class A tech includes unnecessary , excessive nature. I suppose the better interpretation is the player that got fouled shoots, that is more direct language. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Where are you getting "dead ball"? When inbounder has the ball, it is live. Foul was on arm. Higging signaled T immediately, IMO he was thinking the ball was hit. Anyway, either way, posters are correct in that it was administered incorrectly.
Hit thrower is intentional foul (NFHS) or Flagrant 1 (NCAAM). Thrower shoots 2 and they keep the ball. Hit ball is technical foul (NFHS - 2 shots, NCAAM - 1 shot). Anyone can shoot and team retains possession. This play and the out of bounds play being discussed, will eventually be reviewable. These are two huge calls that had a tremendous impact on the game. It is only a matter of time before things like this are added to the list of reveiwable items. The player out of bounds was so obvious that only three people did not see it, the ones wearing the stripes. It is similar to the New Orleans Saints play IMO. Everyone saw the same, obvious infraction except the officials. The magnitude is not the same however.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| WV Gonzaga 1:31 left | thedewed | Basketball | 2 | Sat Mar 25, 2017 02:48pm |
| BYU Gonzaga BI/GT vid request | Sharpshooternes | Basketball | 1 | Sat Dec 27, 2014 07:30pm |
| Substitute Tech or More than 5 Tech? | rekent | Basketball | 2 | Sun Feb 23, 2014 01:16am |
| Team tech or bench tech? | ronny mulkey | Basketball | 1 | Mon Nov 11, 2013 01:34pm |
| End of USF/Gonzaga TO | ODJ | Basketball | 13 | Wed Mar 09, 2011 07:35pm |