The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 07:52pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Nope, fouled the thrower. This should be an intentional personal foul, not a technical.
Or F1 by NCAA rules.
Agree - thought it should of been an F1.

They said they called it a T which is why anyone was allowed to shoot the free throws.

I don't agree with the ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 07:54pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuelrider View Post
I'll tell you how it happens. If you watch closely trail and lead are both ball watching. Elite 8 this stuff just can't happen. I don't know the Perkins even touched him. 11.5 seconds to go Zach Norvell put back. TT defender in the RA No foul?
Touched whom? On the throw-in? Obvious hit to the left forearm.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 07:56pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
So are you saying this was a tough call?

Maybe my expectations of a FF ref are too high...
Mistakes happen. Higgins is one of the top officials in the game.

I thought it looked like he was blocked out by another player.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Agree - thought it should of been an F1.

They said they called it a T which is why anyone was allowed to shoot the free throws.

I don't agree with the ruling.
I couldnít watch the game and havenít seen the play, but if they ruled it a technical for touching the ball, itís a Class B which is only one FT.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 07:57pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,635
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
So are you saying this was a tough call?

Maybe my expectations of a FF ref are too high...
No, I'm not saying it was a tough call. I'm saying, as it happened on the TV at the time, I said to my son that he was out of bounds. The camera angle from my living room was excellent! The call should have been made. It wasn't.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 08:01pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
I couldnít watch the game and havenít seen the play, but if they ruled it a technical for touching the ball, itís a Class B which is only one FT.
That wasn't the ruling - TT shot two free throws.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 08:01pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,773
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Mistakes happen. Higgins is one of the top officials in the game.

I thought it looked like he was blocked out by another player.
That is exactly what I was thinking and very possible.

Look we need to act like mistakes cannot happen. They happen but on this stage, these are more pronounced.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael ďMickĒ Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 08:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Mistakes happen. Higgins is one of the top officials in the game.

I thought it looked like he was blocked out by another player.
Agree. The original shooter is probably blocking his view.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 08:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Agree - thought it should of been an F1.

They said they called it a T which is why anyone was allowed to shoot the free throws.

I don't agree with the ruling.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
I couldnít watch the game and havenít seen the play, but if they ruled it a technical for touching the ball, itís a Class B which is only one FT.
They reviewed it and said that it was an F1. However, they then either forgot that the inbounder has to attempt the FTs or had the wrong player as the thrower.

Note: this would be the second time in the tourney that a wrong FT shooter gets Higgins. He was the alternate a couple of years ago when the crew put the wrong shooter at the line. They all failed to advance.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 08:34pm
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Agree - thought it should of been an F1.

They said they called it a T which is why anyone was allowed to shoot the free throws.

I don't agree with the ruling.
Do we definitively what it was called? F1 or T?
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 08:57pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
Do we definitively what it was called? F1 or T?
A technical was actually called. It was said so by on the broadcast after the game and apparently, that came from JD Collins according to Steretore.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael ďMickĒ Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 09:15pm
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
A technical was actually called. It was said so by on the broadcast after the game and apparently, that came from JD Collins according to Steretore.

Peace
That’s what I thought...then why was it inbounded at the spot of the foul? Is that the NCAA rule or did they err at the inbound spot? That confused me.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Zebra View Post
Thatís what I thought...then why was it inbounded at the spot of the foul? Is that the NCAA rule or did they err at the inbound spot? That confused me.
The spot of the foul and the POI are the exact same in this situation. Only dead ball contact and flagrant 2 Tís go to the division line.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
A technical was actually called. It was said so by on the broadcast after the game and apparently, that came from JD Collins according to Steretore.

Peace
Then they erred in giving two FTs.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 30, 2019, 10:11pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,495
They either erred giving two shots for a Class B or a Flagrant 1 with the wrong shooter. I didnít see any of the refs come over to the table and explain ó does anyone know if they did?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WV Gonzaga 1:31 left thedewed Basketball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2017 02:48pm
BYU Gonzaga BI/GT vid request Sharpshooternes Basketball 1 Sat Dec 27, 2014 07:30pm
Substitute Tech or More than 5 Tech? rekent Basketball 2 Sun Feb 23, 2014 01:16am
Team tech or bench tech? ronny mulkey Basketball 1 Mon Nov 11, 2013 01:34pm
End of USF/Gonzaga TO ODJ Basketball 13 Wed Mar 09, 2011 07:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1