The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 08:40am
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,242
Casebook 10.2.1(b)

SITUATION: The ruling official has reported the foul and proceeds to his/her proper position for the first of two free throws awarded to A1...: (b) Two B players are not occupying the first two marked spaces next to the end line as required.
RULING: Team B will be directed to occupy the required spaces. If there is a delay, a team technical foul shall be charged to Team B. (4-47)

Why did the NFHS chose to append (4-47) as a rule reference here? This situation. . . A. Isn't mentioned as one of the 4-47 delays of game, and B. All the infractions detailed in 4-47 merit a warning prior to the issuance of a team technical, which the casebook reference above does not.

In spite of these apparent inconsistencies, is it correct that an immediate T should be issued if the team doesn't put players in those lower lane spaces?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
SITUATION: The ruling official has reported the foul and proceeds to his/her proper position for the first of two free throws awarded to A1...: (b) Two B players are not occupying the first two marked spaces next to the end line as required.
RULING: Team B will be directed to occupy the required spaces. If there is a delay, a team technical foul shall be charged to Team B. (4-47)

Why did the NFHS chose to append (4-47) as a rule reference here? This situation. . . A. Isn't mentioned as one of the 4-47 delays of game, and B. All the infractions detailed in 4-47 merit a warning prior to the issuance of a team technical, which the casebook reference above does not.

In spite of these apparent inconsistencies, is it correct that an immediate T should be issued if the team doesn't put players in those lower lane spaces?
They referenced the rule so officials did NOT try to treat it as one of the warnings. (I think at one time they also had this under the ROP rule, or referenced it -- for the same reason.)

Direct the team in, and issue a T if they refuse to comply.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 10:24am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,372
No Official Warning For Delay ...

Could this situation be thought to be similar to where (not after a timeout or an intermission) the shooter isn't in the semicircle, and is directed to occupy the semicircle. If there is further delay, a technical foul is charged to the shooter?

The similarity being no official warning for delay.

10.4.5 SITUATION: The ruling official has reported the foul and has given directions to players along the lane. The official is ready to put the ball at free thrower A1’s disposal, but A1 is at the sideline talking to the coach. RULING: A technical foul for delay is charged to A1. No warning is authorized in this situation. (10-3-5c)
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Feb 12, 2019 at 10:45am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 12:44pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Could this situation be thought to be similar to where (not after a timeout or an intermission) the shooter isn't in the semicircle, and is directed to occupy the semicircle. If there is further delay, a technical foul is charged to the shooter?

The similarity being no official warning for delay.

10.4.5 SITUATION: The ruling official has reported the foul and has given directions to players along the lane. The official is ready to put the ball at free thrower A1ís disposal, but A1 is at the sideline talking to the coach. RULING: A technical foul for delay is charged to A1. No warning is authorized in this situation. (10-3-5c)
Seems so. Parallel enough to be remembered together. Thanx for heads-up on this one, BM.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6-4-3 casebook fullor30 Basketball 1 Sat Nov 20, 2010 12:09pm
Casebook help Ch1town Football 11 Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:41am
Casebook ? Chess Ref Softball 4 Thu Jun 28, 2007 06:09pm
Not in the casebook ..... Chess Ref Softball 13 Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:07am
NF Casebook 6.5.4 sit dumbref Football 9 Sun Sep 12, 2004 12:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1