The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2018, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 142
"Greater responsibility for contact"

I may have been calling a play wrong. A1 dribbling quickly from BC to FC, B1 establishes LGP about 10 feet ahead of A1, two feet from the sideline. A1 is able to pass B1 (both running by now), but in doing so, is forced OOB by slight contact by B1. I have always called a foul on B1. But Rule 4-7-2c states, in part “If there is less than 3 feet of space, the dribbler has the greater responsibility for the contact”. So of course we must determine what “greater responsibility” means. In my case above, does it mean no foul, and an OOB violation on A1?

Here is a link to a similar discussion, but it involved a "hip check", not slight contact.

https://forum.officiating.com/basket...hs-4-7-2c.html
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2018, 01:01pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,316
If B1 created/initiated illegal contact that forced A1 to go OOB, I'm calling a foul on B1.

If A1 tried to squeeze past B1 and what would normally be incidental contact caused A1 to go OOB, I have an OOB call.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Jan 04, 2019 at 02:31pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2018, 01:19pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,661
Force Out ...

Force out.

Yeah, it was a real rule back in ancient times.

Young'uns can look it up on the Google.

https://youtu.be/HqynTsrlxvM
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2018, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
If B1 created/initiated illegal contact that forced A1 to go OOB, I'm calling a foul on A1.



If A1 tried to squeeze past B1 and what would normally be incidental contact caused A1 to go OOB, I have an OOB call.

This.

When I was a newer official, I assumed “greater responsibility for the contact” meant that if you’re not charging B1 with a blocking foul here, you have to charge A1 with a PCF. But the artist formerly known as BNR is more correct; though a PCF is certainly a possible outcome, “greater responsibility for the contact” more commonly means that A1 is a fool for trying to squeeze a golf ball through a garden hose, and is every bit responsible for having his arse end up out of bounds.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2018, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
If B1 created/initiated illegal contact that forced A1 to go OOB, I'm calling a foul on A1.

If A1 tried to squeeze past B1 and what would normally be incidental contact caused A1 to go OOB, I have an OOB call.
Did you mean to say foul on B1?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 04, 2019, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 477
Similar issue oft misdiagnosed

Similar to the dribbler having the "greater responsibility for avoiding contact", this is also seen in other cases: 1) A1 receives a pass in the high post and B1 has obtained LGP (legal guarding position); then A1 proceeds to bull-drive his/her way thru the lane and trips over the leg or foot of B1 and falls down hard on the floor (mind you that B1's foot was already there first). Or 2) A2 is driving thru the lane from the perimeter, with B2 having obtained LGP, then A2 trips over the foot of B2, falls down hard on the floor.
I have frequently observed where officials (NF, NCAA, NBA, IABBO, etc.) will call a "block" on B1 [or B2]--despite B1/B2 having his/her foot on the spot before A1 decided to mush their way thru. In this case, really A1 / A2 has the "burden of avoiding the contact"; however, presumably due to habits and expectations, B1/B2 is always called for the foul.
I officiated a game recently wherein this case presented itself to me early in the game. A1 dribble driving through the lane and simply tripping over the "already set" foot of defender. I did not "whistle" the play and the coach was aghast saying "look at my player limping cause he got tripped up". The coachcalls a time out and comes over to ask me: "hey didn't you see that?!" to which I replied "yes, I saw your player trip over a defender in LGP".
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 04, 2019, 02:31pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdoebler View Post
Did you mean to say foul on B1?
Doh!!! Fixed it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2016 NCAA Rule Change: OBS - "About to Receive" vs. "In the act of Catching" teebob21 Softball 15 Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:16pm
contact on the "off" hand/arm - what's the call? MrPlywood Basketball 12 Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:50am
Is "the patient whistle" and "possession consequence" ruining the game? fiasco Basketball 46 Fri Dec 02, 2011 08:43am
Obstruction/interference/"malicious" contact non-ruling (NFHS)... jcwells Baseball 7 Wed Jul 09, 2008 06:04pm
greater responsibility for the contact jkjenning Basketball 12 Wed May 03, 2006 07:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1