The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 27, 2018, 09:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 198
FT with And 1

"Score the goal" .. all 3 officials mirror ONE shot .. the first shot comes off the rim and no one moves .. period. The inside defensive player gathers the rebound and tosses it to the L for what they think is another shot.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 27, 2018, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
I'd give the ball to A (the team that shot the free throw)at the nearest spot to where B threw the ball to the Lead. This would be if the Lead was out of bounds.

If the Lead was inbounds when he caught the ball, I would administer a jump ball (AP throw-in to the team with the arrow, for leagues that don't have in-game jump balls), because the ball became dead in the official's possession without team control.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 04:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
I'd give the ball to A (the team that shot the free throw)at the nearest spot to where B threw the ball to the Lead. This would be if the Lead was out of bounds.

If the Lead was inbounds when he caught the ball, I would administer a jump ball (AP throw-in to the team with the arrow, for leagues that don't have in-game jump balls), because the ball became dead in the official's possession without team control.
If the L is standing inbounds and no official sounds a whistle, what rule makes the ball dead?
Also, when did team control end following B1 rebounding the ball?

Last edited by Nevadaref; Fri Dec 28, 2018 at 06:29am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 04:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 48
L

Isn’t the Lead suppose to be OFF the floor regardless? If NO second free throw is scheduled??? It’s happened to me and I’ve jus moved swiftly out of way as ball landed out of bounds🙋🏼*♂️🏀 Please someone clarify 3man L being ON Floor
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattReferee View Post
Isn’t the Lead suppose to be OFF the floor regardless? If NO second free throw is scheduled??? It’s happened to me and I’ve jus moved swiftly out of way as ball landed out of bounds🙋🏼*♂️🏀 Please someone clarify 3man L being ON Floor
If it's really the last FT, then the L is off the court.

If L (and apparently others) thought it was the first of multiple FTs, then some mechanics allow the L to be on the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 03:26pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,365
Possession Arrow ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If L (and apparently others) thought it was the first of multiple FTs ...
Any chance of miscommunication, or misunderstanding by all the players, I'm going with the possession arrow.

Below is certainly not a completely relevant casebook play, but it's the only one that's close:

8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-
one free-throw situation. The administering official steps
in and erroneously informs players that two free throws will
be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed free
throw is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players
motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all
other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or
(c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to
secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this
point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put
one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and
didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be ruled dead
immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession
procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound
despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to
gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3; 2-
10)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Dec 28, 2018 at 03:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 09:46am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
...

If the Lead was inbounds when he caught the ball, I would administer a jump ball (AP throw-in to the team with the arrow, for leagues that don't have in-game jump balls), because the ball became dead in the official's possession without team control.
How do you figure there was no TC if a defensive player REBOUNDED the missed shot and then passed the ball?

One of my pet peeves is when officials think TC ends because of an errand pass.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Dec 28, 2018 at 10:37am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 10:27am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,548
If it was communicated properly, the player made a mistake. We officiate mistakes often in this game. Why would we treat this any different?

Give the ball to the team that shot the FT.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 10:45am
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
If it was communicated properly, the player made a mistake. We officiate mistakes often in this game. Why would we treat this any different?

Give the ball to the team that shot the FT.

Peace
I changed my mind and I now agree with this. If I am certain that I communicated properly, I am going to give the ball to the shooting team.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
How do you figure there was no TC if a defensive player REBOUNDED the missed shot and then passed the ball?

One of my pet peeves is when officials think TC ends because of an errand pass.
How can there be TEAM control if the ball is possessed by an official? AFAIK, officials are not members of either team, so if they have control of the ball (when administering a jump ball, free throw, or throw-in), no team us in team control.

There cannot be team control if the ball is out-of-bounds, because the ball becomes dead upon gaining out-of-bounds status.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 01:51pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
How can there be TEAM control if the ball is possessed by an official? AFAIK, officials are not members of either team, so if they have control of the ball (when administering a jump ball, free throw, or throw-in), no team us in team control.



There cannot be team control if the ball is out-of-bounds, because the ball becomes dead upon gaining out-of-bounds status.
If the official is out of bounds then the ball is out of bounds. If the official was in bounds the official is part of the floor, so how did the team lose team control?

That's a basic of basketball knowledge. You are supposed to know how a team can team control. And throwing a pass that is caught or touched by an official is not one of them.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
I'm surprised there is no casebook play for this situation, but assuming the lead is using proper mechanics for this play, he will be out-of-bounds, so this discussion is moot. A ball at the spot nearest to the ball going out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 02:13pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,365
Team Control ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
How can there be TEAM control if the ball is possessed by an official?
Assuming the lead was inbounds ...

Because the rule says so. Ask yourself who had team control before it was controlled by the official?

RULE 4 SECTION 12 CONTROL, PLAYER AND TEAM
ART. 1 A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or -
dribbling a live ball. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a
jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper,
or during an interrupted dribble.
ART. 2 A team is in control of the ball:
a. When a player of the team is in control.

b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.
c. During an interrupted dribble.
d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.
ART. 3 Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
ART. 4 While the ball remains live a loose ball always remains in
control of the team whose player last had control,
unless it is a try or tap
for goal.

If the official, while holding the ball, moves his pivot foot in excess of the legal limitations are you going to call a travel violation?

For all intents and purposes the official is part of the floor.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Dec 28, 2018 at 03:42pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 07:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
One of my pet peeves is when officials think TC ends because of an errand pass.

One of my pet peeves is when people don’t proofread their posts and end up using words like errand when they meant errant.



It’s even more disturbing when I see that their post has already been edited at least once.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 28, 2018, 07:07pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhistlesAndStripes View Post
One of my pet peeves is when people don’t proofread their posts and end up using words like errand when they meant errant.



It’s even more disturbing when I see that their post has already been edited at least once.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I was wondering if I spelled that wrong. It just didn't feel right, but I was too lazy to look it up. I knew if I did somebody would come along and let me know.

As long as I'm getting the rules part right I'm happy.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1