Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito
How can there be TEAM control if the ball is possessed by an official?
|
Assuming the lead was inbounds ...
Because the rule says so. Ask yourself who had team control before it was controlled by the official?
RULE 4 SECTION 12 CONTROL, PLAYER AND TEAM
ART. 1
A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or -
dribbling a live ball. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a
jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper,
or during an interrupted dribble.
ART. 2
A team is in control of the ball:
a. When a player of the team is in control.
b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates.
c. During an interrupted dribble.
d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.
ART. 3 Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
ART. 4
While the ball remains live a loose ball always remains in
control of the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap
for goal.
If the official, while holding the ball, moves his pivot foot in excess of the legal limitations are you going to call a travel violation?
For all intents and purposes the official is part of the floor.