The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2018, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Can't recall which NCAAM game. Just happened. A1 shoots a FT and misses. Players stand around clearly expecting another FT. Baseline ref enters lane during rebound to administer 2nd FT. Shooter legally enters lane, corrals ball, shoots, and scores. Ref backpedals quickly to get out of the way. Play continues.
Did the administering official announce two shots? Or announce 1-1 and the players just forgot?

If the latter, play on. If the former (based on the description), go to the arrow (at least in FED and NCAAW -- I don't know if NCAAM has the same AR)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2018, 02:48pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Did the administering official announce two shots? Or announce 1-1 and the players just forgot?

If the latter, play on. If the former (based on the description), go to the arrow (at least in FED and NCAAW -- I don't know if NCAAM has the same AR)
The only player who reacted as if it was 1-and-1 was the shooter. B1 had caught the missed free throw and was in the process of handing the ball to the Lead, who had stepped into the paint, when A1 came and swiped the ball and laid it in.

IMO, the play was not handled properly. I have no idea what led to the confusion.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2018, 03:46pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
For The Good Of The Cause ...

This (below) is high school, not college, and I'm not even sure that it matches the situation perfectly, but for the good of the cause, a reminder for all:

8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw
situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that
two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is
rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another
throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw;
or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound.
The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's
error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and
didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and
resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an
attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to
gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2018, 03:58pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
This (below) is high school, not college, and I'm not even sure that it matches the situation perfectly, but for the good of the cause, a reminder for all:

8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw
situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that
two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is
rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another
throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw;
or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound.
The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's
error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and
didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and
resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an
attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to
gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)
Situation (b) is basically what happened, with A1 replacing A2 in the scenario. Rule is the same for college.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many Shots? WLMinWA Basketball 14 Sat Jan 31, 2009 08:08am
One shot, two shots or three shots. wbrown Basketball 14 Mon Jan 26, 2009 09:42am
How Many Shots? grunewar Basketball 4 Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:11pm
HOW MANY SHOTS rburn22281 Basketball 22 Tue May 14, 2002 12:29pm
Players yelling at opponents taking shots... MREUROREF Basketball 7 Fri Dec 15, 2000 03:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1